Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
CodeImp

Doom Builder on Windows Vista - How To

aye! well, I asked my question a month agoo and still no reply. I guess the guys that can help us are on vacation! I have tried something myself. Like putting the Iwads in the same map as doombuilder. But none worked!

Please get this man back to disklaasing nerds.

Another victim of that damned 'error 9: subscript out of range' right here. Which really sucks, as some Vista users have DB working!

:(

*EDIT: No, wait, never mind that fix I posted. I couldn't save anything anyway D:

Something of a weird workaround that will cost you some time and harddisk space could be to set up a virtual machine (VMWare, or Microsoft VM -which is free), install XP and install Doom Builder in there. I guess it's better than nothing.

oooh I got it working.. So I went out, seeing if I could fix this myself, and it worked!
Now I have little knowledge about these programs and stuff, so there might even be a better way to do this. All I did was changing some things in Doom2.cfg file with notepad. Probably vista doesn't allow doombuilder.exe to make changes in this file.

So err, I don't know exactly what I changed and what not, but I changed everything that seemed logic to me. Also, I got the Iwad files in the doombuilder root folder.. That should be handy cause I think I had to fill in long pathnames otherwise. (basing all of this on my little actionscript knowledge :P)

So heh, PLAS! yay, I got it working pretty easy!
NOW LET'S GO WATCH GHER DANCING HURRAY!
http://www.plasproductions.com/cartoons/gher.html

(oh yes err If you want any other game format to work you must change the other cfg files, ofcourse)

"Error 5 - Invalid procedure call or argument"
I was working on a map, then bam, happens again and you know what it does EVERYTIME I tried to re-open that map/wad, I couldn't, as if it was deleted/corrupted...