Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
vegito522

Crit my level?

So I'm working on a couple levels.

Just started yesterday so I know i'm a bit of a noob at this.

I was hoping to get some kind of feedback from what you think I should add or maybe some positive or negative feedback on it so far.

I'll check yours out if you got one.

No it's not spam or a virus http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4SG59GO7

First, post new wads in the wads/mods section. DB is pretty scarce except for people actually working on it and people with problems, or random people like me who check every section.

Second, since you posted in this section I assume you're using DB. You'll notice when you first make a new map it'll ask what format and resources you want to map in/with. Please post which one(s) you did, otherwise people will play your map with the wrong format and/or wads loaded(i.e., I actually expected something to comment on so I did a first attempt demo in prboom+ with plain doom2. The map HoMed to heck since prboom doesn't have placeholder textures afaik).

Third, and actually about the map, please consider what you're mapping and PLAYTEST IT. If it looks and plays like crap to you it probably will to others. Not to say everyone else's first thing they mapped looked different (if they didn't follow a tutorial and just jumped in at least). Try recreating a map that you really liked playing first, one of the original doom/2 maps work best as they're pretty simple layouts with no excessive details like modern maps.

I won't comment on the map otherwise, it's basically big rooms with really thick doors with textures missing and filled with monsters. Don't discouraged though, just keep playing maps, mapping, and POSTING those maps (in wads/mods ;P), you'll figure out how to make fun and cool looking maps soon enough.

That level was shit, I mean look at any other levels and you will see what I mean.