Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Gamedude

windeu -please help!-

I'm new to doom editing, and I would like to know a few things about making levels in windeu. windeu is the best editor I could get to work on my XP machine, everything else crashes. Anyways, I need help with making sectors and changing skies. When I try to make a sector inside a sector for platforms, shadows, etc, it looks fine in the game, but the player can't enter the sector. I got the linedefs set to 2-sided and passable, but the player still can't enter the sector. It's like there's an invisible wall. Can someone tell me step by step how to make sectors within sectors with windeu? Also, I can't figure out how to use different textures for skies. In windeu, when you try to pick a texture for a sector ceiling, the only sky texture listed is "f_sky1". I can only pick the other sky textures for linedefs. I opened up the original doom 2 maps, and they all use "f_sky1" for the sky in windeu, but when you play the levels, they have different textures for skies. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Here are some tips:

- Skies: F_SKY1 is the default sky "placeholder" -- if a sector uses F_SKY1 as the ceiling, it will be drawn as a sky. The actual sky texture is dependent on which level your level is replacing (for example, in Ultimate Doom, all E1 levels use the gray sky, all E3 levels use the red sky, etc.) So, if you want your level to use the Hell Sky in Doom II, you better save your level as MAP22, MAP23, ..., MAP30.