Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
The Doomist

Custom Water Texture?

Does anyone have a custom water texture I can use? I'm not lazy, I just have no experience with spriting. How do add custom textures anyway? Do I have to edit lumps or something? I have no experience other than map making. What sprite program do you guys use?

I assume you're talking about floor textures, right? Most of the information in that other thread is specific to wall textures - floor textures (called "flats") are in a completely different format, and are much more limited than wall textures in many ways (and less limited in other ways)

* Your textures must be converted to the Doom Flat format (which is not the same as the standard Doom graphics format) to work. Flats must be exactly 64x64 pixels in size and cannot have transparency.

* In order to work in vanilla Doom, there must be an F_END marker at the end of your flat list (unlike the P_START and P_END markers for wall patches, this is not optional), and there must not be an F_START marker anywhere in your WAD. Vanilla Doom assumes that any flat list starting with F_START is a complete list of every flat in the game, which is not what you want. If you do decide to use a marker for organisational purposes, call it FF_START or something in order to avoid being recognised by the game.

* The PNAMES and TEXTUREx lumps are specific to wall textures, and are neither necessary nor useful when dealing with flats.