Sarge
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom Editing > Animated monster sprites

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Agentbromsnor

Oh hi Mark, I mean forum!

I have little experience in making sprites. I know how to make static sprites (or rather, how to replace the Doom 2 ones). I also know my way in PhotoShop, so thats not a problem either.

What I want for my mod however, is a enemy sprite that is constantly animating. So even when the monster is standing still, its still animating (looping between a couple of frames).

How do I pull this off in my PWAD?

Also, aside from this, is there a way to set the damage the monster inflicts, and the speed of its movement? I probably have to get into DECORATE, but I'd like to know how to start.

Old Post 11-01-12 13:23 #
Agentbromsnor is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Vermil

Replacing a monsters sprite is indentical to replacing a scenery sprite.

But yes, if you want to add a unique idle animation to a monster (i.e add new sprites) or alter a monsters stats, you'll have to alter the states, which requires Dehacked, Decorate, Ded etc.

Old Post 11-01-12 14:24 #
Vermil is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Agentbromsnor

Vermil said:
Replacing a monsters sprite is indentical to replacing a scenery sprite.

But yes, if you want to add a unique idle animation to a monster (i.e add new sprites) or alter a monsters stats, you'll have to alter the states, which requires Dehacked, Decorate, Ded etc.

Alright, can I find some tutorials for that?