Demon
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom Editing > Musicians, what do you compose Doom music with?

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 14:09. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
plums

I'm a decent amateur musician but I don't really work with MIDI at all. If I wanted to start composing music for Doom engine games, what software should I look at? Preferably something free or very cheap, and not sheet music notation. I use tracker software a lot but my experience has been that it doesn't convert to MIDI files all that well. What do other people here use?

e: Windows or Linux.

Last edited by plums on 09-29-13 at 08:58

Old Post 09-29-13 08:45 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Bucket
ROCK & LOAD
COCK BEEN BLOWED
IN YOUR MOUTH,
MANJUICE EXPLOAD

If you want free MIDI composing software for Windows, try Anvil Studio. The Linux equivalent is Rosegarden.

Old Post 09-29-13 09:03 #
Bucket is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Obsidian

Esselfortium recommended me this when I asked: it's a pretty good program when you set it to English. :P

Old Post 09-29-13 09:19 #
Obsidian is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Jimmy
doesn't rhyme with MIDI :(

Cakewalk Express 3.02 still.

Watch me do work here.

Jimmy's Blog of Death - I make terrible posts here.

Old Post 09-29-13 09:38 #
Jimmy is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums

I can rarely watch twitch streams unless they're embedded, for some reason. It's been on my list of things to figure out for some time. Cakewalk Express 3 is pretty fitting for composing Doom music though.