Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kaleb.

Tips on monster placement?

I'm just not good at monsters placement. I've been making maps since 2007 (but have only released 2 things out of the 40,000 wads i've made), and I still haven't got the hang of interesting monster placement. So, what are you techniques and tips?

Check out this very interesting thread, too.

Take advantage of monster's strengths and weaknesses, and place them to effectively create a challenge. Cacodemon can fly, so use him to hunt player in difficult terrain. Baron has high HP, so use him to put a pressure onto the player in regards of space and time. Pain elementals spawn lost souls and he's a top priority target, so use him to distract the player while he also needs to fight other monsters. Hitscanners are basic enemies for corridors and moderately big rooms, and they discourage the player from headlessly rushing forward. You get it. The thread linked above has a lot of good advices. Just never overdo it to be too annoying, like to place many PEs, many AVs and chaingunners in open areas.

Also, player should be able to kill all monsters before he starts getting bored by just shooting into them - don't put bigger monster hordes than absolutely needed. Your goal is not to drag the player in your map for as long time as possible with your layout - your goal is to provide fun to him, and challenge.

Lastly, I recommend to avoid noticeably too much symmetry - that applies generally, not only for monster placement. The reason is that any repetitiveness is usually worse than fresh ideas, and also that it challenges the player in a less unique way than it could, and also that symmetry might just overally feel cheap. Instead of putting 2 revenants on each side of a door, you can probably afford to put just one, but you don't have to put him in the center. Besides, similarly to what I said before, 2 might take too long to kill to be satisfying.