Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Nanami

About levels...

Topic sounded kind of broad.
Anyway, I was just wondering what everyone's opinion is. Maybe to help me make better levels in the future. What's the most important feature in a level?
* Detail? Neat architecture with sunroofs and spiral stairs and moving machines and things.
* Texture allignment? Personally, if a wad doesn't have texture allignment, I throw it away right off the bat. I can't stand bad allignment. My wads may be repetitive and dumb, but by god, I spend hours on making sure all my walls are lined up right! =P
* Monster placement? I'm not too good with this. I usually put in some monsters, play it, and see if I survive or not. >.<
* Usage of new features? Making you have to jump or swim. Slopes and 3D floors.
* Difficulty? I personally thought my first level was really hard on UV. I made different difficulty levels so a person could step down if need be. It seems like everyone starts on UV and trashes the wad if they can't play it in UV, saying it's too hard. Isn't that the point of UV? It's hard?
* Health/Ammo? My levels almost never have health, or at least not much of it. If there's not a need for health, I don't put it in. Too much ammo doesn't annoy me as much as too little ammo. I hate coming around a corner and seeing a Baron when all I have is a pistol. But I also hate having max ammo of everything through the whole game. A wad should make you change weapons regularly, you know?
* Whatever else there is to like about wads, heh.
Anyway, just curious to see what everyone thinks.