Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Creaphis

Trouble using certain WADs with Doom

I've downloaded some home-made WAD's for Doom, and I'm trying to play them on Doom 95. Sometimes this works perfectly, but most of the time e1m1 loads instead of the WAD. For example, I've downloaded the first WADs on the "100 Best WADs of All Time" list on this site. Galaxia works perfectly, but when I try to load Crossing Acheron, UAC DEAD, or Serenity, I get nothing but e1m1. Doom II WADs have always loaded properly (so far), the problem is only with Doom I WADs.

Is there some way to fix Doom 95 so that all WADs will work? Could I download a source port and play these WADs on that? For that matter, how do I use source ports? I downloaded Chocolate Doom, and double clicking on it didn't do anything useful. I know I sound dumb, but I'm new to this.

Thanks, any help is very much appreciated.

The usual installation procedure for a source port is:

a) download zip file of source port
b) unzip in it's own directory
c) place a copy of Doom.wad and/or Doom2.wad in the same directory as the source port (These type of wads are called IWADS)
d) double click sourceport to run it.

If you're after a GUI front-end similar to doom95 then I humbly recommend my very own ESL program (link is in my signature below) since most source ports don't include one.

Your problems for loading some maps might be because those maps are made for Doom 2 instead of Doom 1, so you would need to specify what IWAD you are going to use in each case: with both doom95 and ESL you have this option.

Hope this helps...