Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Optimus

Motion sickness in Doom (or other FPS)

Ahh I never ever have gotten ill from playing a game (motion or sickness or otherwise). EVER. Even old games like Wolf 3D and Catacombs (I completed Catacombs shareware in one-sitting) I can play for ages and ages and not feel a thing. I have been playing computer games (Doom was my first) since I was like 5 years old though so I think my body just adapted at such a young age ;)

Some people tend to get sick playing a low-res game like vanilla Doom. I tried playiing in zdoom (and other ports), and it just removed any motion sickness I had with this game.

Also, consider mouse sensitivity - too loose and you're set to get dizzy, too tight and you find yourself struggling with the game. Find your balance, and stick to it.

As for other games, a low fps count (that's frames per sec) contributes a lot for some of my motion sickness issues (like, playing Doom 3 on a 256mb PC. lolz).

I've never experienced motion sickness from a video game, or riding in a car while reading or playing a game boy. I started playing videogames when I was about 5, and first person shooters when I was around 7, so I might be used to them. The only time I've felt like vomiting due to motion is when I'm on a floating pier or on a boat. It probably has something to do with my fear of water and drowning.

I have never experienced motion sickness, either. My grandpa has motion sickness, though, so he can't watch me play any of my games, or he'll get sick. I'll get sick if I spin around in a spinning chair, but I don't know if that qualifies.

I've been playing the orignal version of Paul Corfiatis' Twilight Zone mod, and it's weird that 7 years after originally playing it without getting motion sickness, now I get butterfiles in my stomach after dropping down from high ledges to discover some secrets. Funky.