Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Koko Ricky

Episode 1 Intermission Screen fan-art (work in progress)

That's mine. I did one for every episode for Doomsday years ago. It's not that detailed though, and I don't have time to model these days.

Tango said:

where did you get such proficiency with sketchup?

I'm not sure. Before I started this project, I had only been messing with Sketchup for a month or so. However, I have been an artist since I could pick up a pencil (about 21 years), and I have always had a wild imagination for architectural structures. Although it's not the case for all programs, I tend to pick up software with ease.

A few of the levels (Toxin Refinery not shown, being revamped) with the new, much more detailed mountain range.

A look at an early version of the "real" E1M8. I mistook E1M9 for E1M8, which I'm sure was a bit confusing. Anyway, this one incorporates the actual pentagram that's in the map, while using a lot of creative flexibility to imagine the tiny group of pixels making it up on the intermission screen.

Tango said:

damn. do you make your living as some sort of artist?

That would be nice. As an illustrative/digital artist, writer, filmmaker, graphic designer, musician and cartoonist (which includes being awarded 2nd place for college cartooning on a national level and being nominated again this year), you'd think I'd be rolling in cash. Instead, I'm unemployed, live at home with my parents at age 26, have an irrational fear of driving (and the "real world" in general), and have proven myself financially irresponsible.

All 9 buildings with a revamped Toxin Refinery.

Detail shot of E1M9's spiky towers, with E1M5 looming in the background.

Wow, the detail in E1M9 is amazing. I don't think I made anything as good as that when I worked with Sketchup.