Cyberdemon
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > NOOB - Running doom wads

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 14:51. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
joedotts
Warming Up

While, I am my no means a noob at doom, I been playing since 93, and making levels since 95, on and off. I know all the basics, but I can NEVER get levels I download to work. Like today I tried to get "Putrefier" off of the cacowards. Download it, and only got a pk3 file. WTF? How do I play half of the levels on this site? Seems like the only ones I can get running are like Alien Vandetta and Deus Vault, all the other stuff is gotta be in like doom in hexen format or something (which is all very new to me, up until a few years ago I was still just using WadEd lol)

Help! im a noob at all this technical shit

Old Post 12-26-12 20:57 #
joedotts is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
joedotts
Warming Up

because i usually just try to open up the wad i download in doom builder and run it that way.... what is the best way to play these custom wads?

Old Post 12-26-12 21:12 #
joedotts is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
BloodyAcid

To play some newer levels that you download, you'll need limit-removing ports that provide new features that the old Doom could not handle. The most common source ports for new wads are:

(OpenGL & Fancier effects)
GZDoom - http://www.osnanet.de/c.oelckers/gzdoom/index.html

(Newschool emulation, runs most wads)
ZDoom - http://zdoom.org/News

(Great for running and creating demos)
PrBoom-plus - http://prboom-plus.sourceforge.net/

To play, just download the appropriate file, unzip, place Doom 2 into its directory, then drag and drop.