Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Xfing

Playing Doom with just the keyboard

Well, when I started playing Doom, I already used Doom95, which did have mouse support. But how did playing in DOS look? Is it even possible to circle-strafe with just the keyboard? I'd imagine that due to the default control settings it would be very difficult. Which I find ironic, seeing that the game Descent (also a wonderful classic) which is a 3dof game, can be played with keyboard alone no problem.

I imagine that even the first three episodes played with just the keyboard would be very difficult. Does anyone have any experience that can be shared?

Back in the glorious 90's, I played with just the keyboard. Yes, it is very difficult, but you get used to it, and after a while it starts feeling "normal". Of course, once I started using the mouse, I never got back to keyboard-only. And Doom95 mouse support is far from good, and was one of the main reasons I switched to ZDoom/PrBoom. There are still people who play with keyboard, even some notable speed runners, but the obvious advantages of the mouse mean that they are a minority.

EDIT: Are you a "keyboarder" or planning to become one?

At first I also used only keyboard then upgraded to keyboard+mouse. It would be hard to go back to old style, it would be like losing a limp. You would again handle the old playstyle just like you would do well without second arm after some time has passed. Humans are very adaptable if you are forced to adapt something