Baron of Hell
User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Special Interest > Doom Speed Demos > Official Demo Request Thread
Pages (8): [1] 2 3 4 » ... Last »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 18:51. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
xit-vono
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 06-01


mod edit: This thread is for suggestions and requests for demos that other people might try to record.

Do not use this thread as a way to pimp your own wads.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Schneelocke wanted a pl29 maxdemo so I made one for him. If anyone wants to see a demo done you can ask for it in this thread.

Old Post Jun 18 2006 23:09 #
xit-vono is offline || Blog || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Schneelocke
Forum Regular


Posts: 749
Registered: 06-03



xit-vono said:
Schneelocke wanted a pl29 maxdemo so I made one for him. If anyone wants to see a demo done you can ask for it in this thread.

Thanks a bunch for that! I just saw it on the C-N ftp site, and will watch it right after I finish this post. :)

Old Post Jun 18 2006 23:35 #
Schneelocke is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Belial
Senior Member


Posts: 2337
Registered: 09-05


Hmm, could you try a tyson or max on this?

Old Post Jun 18 2006 23:51 #
Belial is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
xit-vono
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 06-01


Are there any demos out there for that wad? I should be able to do a max demo for it. I don't know if tyson is reasonable though.

Old Post Jun 19 2006 02:55 #
xit-vono is offline || Blog || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2774
Registered: 01-04


I request more scythe2 max demos (with prboom)

Old Post Jun 19 2006 11:03 #
entryway is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Belial
Senior Member


Posts: 2337
Registered: 09-05



xit-vono said:
Are there any demos out there for that wad? I should be able to do a max demo for it. I don't know if tyson is reasonable though.

Here's the original version of the wad with my max demo. No changes to the gameplay area between this and the new version.

http://belial.dmclub.org/techbas1.zip

What would it take to make the map playable tyson style? Is it even possible without making max runs overly easy?

Edit: I would also appreciate any input about coop, if possible.

Last edited by Belial on Jun 19 2006 at 13:01

Old Post Jun 19 2006 12:32 #
Belial is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Schneelocke
Forum Regular


Posts: 749
Registered: 06-03



entryway said:
I request more scythe2 max demos (with prboom)

That'd be nice. We also still have some holes in the speed and pacifist categories, and tyson and -fast are both very far from being completed. So there's still lots of stuff there where you (Xit, that is, although the same goes for everyone else as well of course) can be first. ^.^

Old Post Jun 19 2006 12:36 #
Schneelocke is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
myk
volveré y seré millones


Posts: 15280
Registered: 04-02


I request more scythe2 max demos (with Doom2+)

Old Post Jun 19 2006 16:16 #
myk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
xit-vono
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 06-01


belial do you want my max demo to be for techbas1 or techbas6?

Old Post Jun 19 2006 17:23 #
xit-vono is offline || Blog || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Belial
Senior Member


Posts: 2337
Registered: 09-05


Techbas6, as that is the final version, unless you provide some info on making it tyson compatible. The only other changes will only affect coop.

Old Post Jun 19 2006 17:28 #
Belial is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
xit-vono
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 06-01


It may be helpful if someone made a table of demos for scythe2. I figured out how to get it to work with doom2 plus.

Old Post Jun 20 2006 22:38 #
xit-vono is offline || Blog || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Jonathan
I am not a leet hax0r :(


Posts: 781
Registered: 05-00


e1m1-008

Old Post Jun 20 2006 22:53 #
Jonathan is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Kristian Ronge
Senior Member


Posts: 1977
Registered: 11-03



xit-vono said:
It may be helpful if someone made a table of demos for scythe2.
Someone did.

Old Post Jun 20 2006 23:01 #
Kristian Ronge is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Schneelocke
Forum Regular


Posts: 749
Registered: 06-03



Kristian Ronge said:
Someone did.

Damn, you beat me to saying it. ;)

Old Post Jun 20 2006 23:59 #
Schneelocke is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Opulent
Senior Member


Posts: 2131
Registered: 07-01


yeah, this ( http://www.doomworld.com/sda/scythe2.htm ) isn't updated yet.

Old Post Jun 21 2006 02:23 #
Opulent is offline || Blog || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Grazza
Your move


Posts: 12566
Registered: 07-02


Nice idea for a thread. How about some of the "classics" that are lacking demos? Some of them may be demo-unfriendly (and that's the reason no one has recorded on them), but I'm sure people would be interested in watching demos on things like PAR, Equinox, maybe new demos (Max, Speed, -fast, NM) on Hacx, etc. And Belltoll deserves a demo, as does that little wad Espi released a while back. Scientist 2 would be nice as well.

Old Post Jun 24 2006 13:05 #
Grazza is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Szymanski


Posts: 1053
Registered: 08-00



Grazza said:
that little wad Espi released a while back

Suspended in dusk? great mapset
http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/index.php?id=13851

and maybe Jägermörder 02 which seems to work with prboom plus (originally zdoom only due to size)
http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/index.php?id=13722

Old Post Jun 24 2006 14:39 #
Szymanski is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Angus Thermopyle
Member


Posts: 378
Registered: 05-03


pa02 plz!!!

Old Post Jun 24 2006 15:28 #
Angus Thermopyle is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Donce
Member


Posts: 547
Registered: 10-03



Grazza said:
Scientist 2 would be nice as well.

Heh, what a coincidence, I'm playing through this wad now. Nice one. Recorded 13 demos so far.

Old Post Jun 24 2006 16:22 #
Donce is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Grazza
Your move


Posts: 12566
Registered: 07-02



Donce said:
Heh, what a coincidence, I'm playing through this wad now. Nice one. Recorded 13 demos so far.

Great to hear - I look forward to seeing them. I trust you have spotted the switch trick for the map20 exit, and that you can do the rising platform area leading into it pacifist-style. (I recorded a crap and therefore unreleased UV Speed - something like 1:54 - using those ideas.)

Old Post Jun 24 2006 23:03 #
Grazza is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Donce
Member


Posts: 547
Registered: 10-03



Grazza said:
I trust you have spotted the switch trick for the map20 exit, and that you can do the rising platform area leading into it pacifist-style. (I recorded a crap and therefore unreleased UV Speed - something like 1:54 - using those ideas.)

I was just exploring this map for tricks. Yes, the exit trick isn't hard to find, and I was just trying to pacifist-survive the platform. But the problem is, when I press the switch after the plat's up, there are 4 hell knights. Not the hardest part. You can dodge two of them while hiding from the other two, and then press the switch opening path to the exit area. The real problem is the cacos. See, I was trying to do all this in nightmare :) Another option is to let all the monsters teleport and kill them with plasma, but when you have to deal with the hell knights, those monsters start respawning very quickly. Well, maybe I'd have my luck after eons, but I don't have this much time, so it's final: 14 NM demos. All the maps except 8,9,14,17,19,20. Yet to write all the txt, so expect the pack tomorrow I think :)

Old Post Jun 24 2006 23:43 #
Donce is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Donce
Member


Posts: 547
Registered: 10-03


Well, I kinda wrote down all the comments and packed everything up. The wad is here and the NM pack is here. Note that I used doom2+ instead of sci2.exe (somehow managed to miss the fact that one is supposed to play with the modified exe), that's why many demos desync with anything but vanilla. See the textfile for all the details.

Old Post Jun 25 2006 22:50 #
Donce is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
myk
volveré y seré millones


Posts: 15280
Registered: 04-02



Donce said:
Note that I used doom2+ instead of sci2.exe (somehow managed to miss the fact that one is supposed to play with the modified exe), that's why many demos desync with anything but vanilla.
It should be possible to make a copy of the wad and delete the DEHACKED lump from it, to play these back with PrBoom or PrBoom+.

Old Post Jun 25 2006 23:57 #
myk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Donce
Member


Posts: 547
Registered: 10-03


Ah yes, I didn't realize that even in vanilla version of the wad, there's a dehacked lump inside. After deleting it, two of the demos that previously desynced, played back OK now. Haven't watched more, but I think they should be fine.

Old Post Jun 26 2006 00:27 #
Donce is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Schneelocke
Forum Regular


Posts: 749
Registered: 06-03


If anyone's interested, how about demos for Zero Tolerance (dd1024)? They're very nice maps. :)

Old Post Jul 13 2006 19:14 #
Schneelocke is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gusta
Forum Regular


Posts: 709
Registered: 02-04


maxdemos for 1024.wad maps 21 and 30? Only two remaining maps for completed maxpack. they aren't hard .... I just don't have much time to play them atm. So pls. somebody complete this pack.

Old Post Jul 14 2006 08:48 #
Gusta is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Grazza
Your move


Posts: 12566
Registered: 07-02



Donce said:
The wad is here and the NM pack is here. Note that I used doom2+ instead of sci2.exe (somehow managed to miss the fact that one is supposed to play with the modified exe), that's why many demos desync with anything but vanilla.

The map05 and map07 demos desync in Doom2.exe and Doom-plus, so I'm a bit puzzled here. They desync in just the same way in Prboom-plus with spechits overflow emulation turned on (i.e. it is emulating Doom2.exe correctly), and only play back when emulation is turned off.

You wouldn't perhaps have used an early version of Chocolate Doom (before spechits emulation was added) by accident? I know you state that you used Doom2+, but the demos don't play back with that, so...

Or is it some weird system-specific thing? i.e. the overflow (whether occurring "naturally" or via emulation) has no effect on some systems, and leads to a desync on others.

Old Post Jul 30 2006 14:56 #
Grazza is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Donce
Member


Posts: 547
Registered: 10-03


Nope, I haven't even downloaded any version of Chocolate Doom. Now I ran those demos again - everything's fine. Played with vanilla exe and sci2.wad sized at 15,508,912 bytes. I think I got this wad after running the included scisetup.bat in SCIvanil directory. If you tried the same wad version and they desync, I have no idea why.

Old Post Jul 30 2006 18:35 #
Donce is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2774
Registered: 01-04


I tried S205n546.lmp and it desync for me with doom2p. I tried without deh and the demo still desync, but much later.

Grazza said:
i.e. the overflow (whether occurring "naturally" or via emulation) has no effect on some systems, and leads to a desync on others.

It is possible of course, because it depends on the address of memory where the wad is loaded. I only use a some compromise value of this address for emulation.

Old Post Jul 30 2006 21:34 #
entryway is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
myk
volveré y seré millones


Posts: 15280
Registered: 04-02



entryway said:
It is possible of course, because it depends on the address of memory where the wad is loaded.
Given that both s205n546 and s207n516 work properly for me (I hadn't noted desynchs back when Donce released the pack, and just double checked those two), it seems to be the case. It's cool to see that in these cases toggling emulation will make the demos synch on PrBoom/+, as seen also for Scythe 2.

Old Post Jul 30 2006 22:45 #
myk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 18:51. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (8): [1] 2 3 4 » ... Last »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Special Interest > Doom Speed Demos > Official Demo Request Thread

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.