Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Csonicgo

BioShock 2's DLC is on the Disc

The "games are a service" thing is a new direction game companies are trying to go to try and justify DLC and DRM. I used to buy complete games that had no extra content to buy, and the sales from the game covered running the servers for online play. Companies like Valve release DLC for free as a way of showing thanks for purchasing their games, not to nickel and dime us.

It is really nothing like the Broadband Internet analogy at all.

myk said:

Companies are treating games like services, not like "content" you acquire as property.

Which is fucking bullshit. I bought the goddamned game already, why should I pay AGAIN? It is MY PROPERTY. I've only paid once for every other game I've ever bought, which I've been doing since 1996!

Since 'content' based games are an easier target for cracking, this will probably end up being the predominant trend. You don't really see people breaking into MMO games, which I'd consider the final form of 'service' based gaming.

Piracy is enough of a reason for the companies to implement DRM so I don't think they'll be looking for any other justification. Despite that, it doesn't look like they're taking DRM development too seriously, which is why we end up with such half-assed solutions as in Assassin's Creed 2 instead of another SC: Chaos Theory.

Mr. Freeze said:
It is MY PROPERTY.

You wish, commie! All you buy is the ability to keep the copy for personal use and only certain permissions on the copyrighted materials written into it. Note also that the extra charge granting you permission to use the "downloadable content" is linked to using their servers.

Remember that game called DOOM? It allowed some limited multiplayer connectivity, but if you wanted to join a larger community to play online you had to pay extra on that included DWANGO service.