Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Bashe

Time for a new video card

My GeForce 8800 Ultra that I've been running for almost three years finally went kaput not too long ago, and I'm in need of a new video card. For the time being, I'm using my brother's 8800 GTX, but once I get some money, I'm going to decide on a new one.

As of now, I've been keeping my eye on this Radeon HD 5850. It's the highest rated card on Newegg within my price range ($200-$300), and it would also be my first ATI card. I've always been fine with NVidia, but I've never tried ATI so I figured I had nothing to lose. However, I'd like to hear a few more options from you guys before I settle completely on a newer card. What are some good cards you have been running that fit within my price range? Chipset and manufacturer do not matter. It must be within $200-$300.

Also, I'm not sure if I'm going to need a new PSU. I'm currently running a 550W with no problems, but I'm worried that maybe a new video card might not be enough. I know there are calculators out there, but I'm missing some information about my internal specs since I'm dumb and don't keep my boxes and manuals lying around when I need them.

My current specs:
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
2x 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
4x 120mm fan (two side ones controlled via fan controller)
2x SATA DVD-RW drives
Intel Core Duo E8400 (3.0 GHz)
2x HDD (unsure of RPM, one is SATA [1 TB] and other is IDE [80 GB])
550W PSU (unsure of make)

This is all running under Windows 7.

Your recommendations are much appreciated.

That's a good pick. However, depending on what resolution your monitor is at, what games you play, and what you consider "acceptable" performance, I would go with a Radeon HD 5770 instead, and put money you save towards another 2 gigabytes of RAM. Get the cheapest 2x1gb kit you can that matches or exceeds the speed of your existing RAM (the number after "PC2").