Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Binary

How has your life changed since you first enrolled in the forums?

Hmm, let's see here:
1995(96?)-2000: Played Doom in singleplayer and LAN, and I played several pwads made at the time. I was very young then and I didn't even know what a gun was.
Late 2000: Real life issues (read: adoption) happened, and I haven't played any computer games for several years. I never forgot about Doom (along with some other games) though.
2005: Moved from southern to central California. Things became more laid-back, and I started playing on the computer again.
2006: Finally decided to pick up Doom 2. Still loved it, and I started mapping for it (too bad my early maps are gone).
2007: Joined the ST forums and became a regular online player.
2009: Joined the ZDoom and Doomworld forums, the latter of which I was inactive in until recently.
2010: Started using IRC. I joined DTWID's IRC channel back in May this year.

If anything, I regret not staying a part of the community (I feel like I missed a whole lot), but then again, I was very socially stunted back then, so it may not have been a good idea.

In short, I signed up in 2000 when I was an angsty 20 year-old who couldn't hold down a job. My dream was to make games, but I wasn't getting anywhere close to that, so I took to Doom level editing. Made Murderous Intent in that time because I was sadistic (and played Doom way too much).

I had to re-evaluate my life at one point after a couple of suicide attempts. I'm not too proud to admit it, but I was a major self-harmer back when and got shook up when a relationship of five years came crumbling around me (tl;dr version of it is "cheating bitch cheated on me all over the place").

Ended up institutionalized for a short spell, in which I made the decision to follow through on my game-designing ambition; enrolled in college, doing Multimedia with an eye on eventually studying games design at university.