Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Memfis

dfasfasddas Apple

Not necessarily as a computer, smartphone or tablet PC, though ;-)

printz said:

I find MacBooks to be quite popular with programmers.

The only guy in my course that has a MacBook gets laughed at. I guess it doesn't have the same reputation here. I am a programmer, but I don't think having a MacBook would be useful. Sellers at the Apple Store tried to convince me to buy one of there computers. They sure have good arguments, but it's not worth buying one at all.

Why do people buy these? I'm curious if it's not to look rich, fancy, superior or cooler. Any idea? What does it have that Windows and Linux don't have? I see nothing.

StevieCybernetik said:

I don't even get what the iPad is good for since its basically just a flat laptop the size of a book that does only half the things a laptop does anyway...

I bought my partner an iPad a while ago, since she was getting back pain from lugging her laptop around for work (and was already well within the Apple ecosystem). She can use it for doing much of the work-related stuff that she was using her laptop for, and there are some great apps that have simplified a number of tasks for her. I like using it as a remote control for various devices in the flat (mostly Windows and Linux machines, heh), and it's great for doing internet stuff whilst on the couch or in bed - much better than using a laptop, since no fan noise, annoying cables, or heat source cooking my balls.

Oh, and you DJ right? It makes a pretty nifty Traktor controller :)

axdoom1 said:

Any idea? What does it have that Windows and Linux don't have? I see nothing.

OSX. The only reason for owning one as a programmer is if you're developing a cross-platform app, and want to be able to run Windows, Linux and OSX on the same platform. Or if you develop exclusively for Apple's platform, as that's the only way to even access their SDK.