Sarge
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Special Interest > Creative Works > DooM - One Fate Worse

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
OpenMaw
Green Marine

This is my first time posting a fan fic here. I was hit with the desire to write a short story based on Doom earlier today and I plugged this bad boy out.

This is vaguely inspired by Doom 64.

DooM - One Fate Worse

by
Steven Johnson

Blood soaked shreds of what were once human beings lay all around as I fed shells into my shotgun. The barrel was still smoking from the engagement.

My muscles ached. Hours, upon hours of rinse and repeat action as I made my way deeper and deeper into the base. Each new structure, Hell, each new room, was stranger than the last. It was as if the base itself were shifting and changing according to some abstract artist's fever dream.

As I finished loading the last round into my cobalt-blue friend I finally realized the nature of the scenery I stood within. It was almost comical, in a macabre sort of way. At one point this would have been a computer lab. Now? Heh... It's amazing what buckshot can do to a human being up close. Even more pleasing, what it could do to those things. Hideous, inhuman, and the smell worse than an unkempt barnyard filled with dead skunks. I was happy to slaughter them all.

I think most of my humanity left me hours ago. When the men were screaming through the radio about these things. Things which overwhelmed them like an act of nature more than enemy combatants. They were cut down in a blaze of gun fire. There were nineteen heavily armed marines in the beginning. Now there was just me. Scraping by with precious little ammo. I had no right to be alive this long after everyone else had bought it.