Spider Mastermind
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > DOOM RETRO v1.6.4 (updated December 10, 2014)
Pages (17): « First ... « 14 15 16 [17]  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



Brewtal_Legend said:

Possible bug. I was trying to play Crusades ( http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?f...-c/crusades.zip )which I do believe is a vanilla wad, but there seems to be issue with sound clipping. On the pistol firing sound and menu sound. Not sure if it is engine or wad issue

Also, there is a crash when using this supposed vanilla dehacked patch. It crashes during the shotgun reload. http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?f...es/rebalanc.zip

**Edit to first edit:
The crash only seems to happen when using Ultimate Doom. The author might have made it exclusive to Doom 2? So it may not be a DR issue with dehack support?



I've just tested both of these. And testing them also in PrBoom+ produces exactly the same results. For crusades.wad, I guess that's how the pistol is supposed to sound (that is, awful!), and for rebalanc.wad, firing the "rebalanced" shotgun is fine in DOOM 2, but not in DOOM: it will crash as well. Thanks for reporting these anyway. :)
(Tip: I almost didn't see your edit. Best to either make a new post, or submit an issue on GitHub.)

Old Post 12-10-14 20:02 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12


Thanks to Luke Jones of Garage Arcades, a Linux build of DOOM RETRO is now available to download here.

Old Post 12-12-14 22:49 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
VGA
Member


Posts: 312
Registered: 05-14


[OCD] You haven't updated the thread title. [/OCD]

Old Post 12-12-14 22:51 #
VGA is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



VGA said:
[OCD] You haven't updated the thread title. [/OCD]


Whoops! So I haven't! Fixing it now... thanks! :)

Old Post 12-12-14 22:53 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


I know you have a lot on your plate for this port, but there's map progression problems even in a 1996 map set. The lion-faced shoot switch is supposed to be able to be hit more than once, which doesn't happen in this port. These sort of things are the only things holding me back from using it for most of my vanilla play.

Old Post 12-13-14 22:42 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



Platinum Shell said:
I know you have a lot on your plate for this port, but there's map progression problems even in a 1996 map set. The lion-faced shoot switch is supposed to be able to be hit more than once, which doesn't happen in this port. These sort of things are the only things holding me back from using it for most of my vanilla play.


Well, stuff like that certainly shouldn't happen. I'll investigate. Thanks. If there are other issues, please report them here.

Old Post 12-13-14 22:49 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


Will do! Thanks for the quick response, as always. Also, are your shadows following an algorithm for sprites? Since Romero recently released a bunch of never before seen rotations for the zombie man and shotgun guy, also including pain rotations for the nazis; all of which have been thrown into the sprite fix project.

Old Post 12-13-14 23:12 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



Platinum Shell said:
Will do! Thanks for the quick response, as always. Also, are your shadows following an algorithm for sprites? Since Romero recently released a bunch of never before seen rotations for the zombie man and shotgun guy, also including pain rotations for the nazis; all of which have been thrown into the sprite fix project.


All fixed! Thanks again.

As for the shadows, they're generated dynamically, so no changes will be needed there.

Old Post 12-14-14 00:23 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


:V

I'm assuming to apply that fix I'd need to compile from the source code right? I haven't the slightest on how to do that. But I'd like to learn.

Old Post 12-14-14 00:50 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



Platinum Shell said:
:V

I'm assuming to apply that fix I'd need to compile from the source code right? I haven't the slightest on how to do that. But I'd like to learn.



I'd recommend downloading Visual Studio Community 2013. But I'll PM you a link to a build with the fix.

Old Post 12-14-14 00:57 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


Also, not sure if this is a feature or not, but I've had a couple of imps gib from the SSG. I'm guessing it is since a 5-15 damage pellet can't do 62+ damage. Kind of like it, actually.

Old Post 12-15-14 00:26 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Linguica


Posts: 4091
Registered: 05-00


http://www.doomretro.com/2014/04/do...ease-notes.html

There is now a chance that the super shotgun may gib a monster when fired at point blank range. (This idea has been taken from Fabian Greffrath’s Crispy DOOM.)

Old Post 12-15-14 00:38 #
Linguica is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


Very brütal. Also, I know this port obviously aims for a retro feel, but would you object to adding a secrets counter or some other kind of indicator?

Old Post 12-15-14 00:55 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
WildWeasel
Resident Castlevania Super-Fanboy


Posts: 2802
Registered: 07-03



Platinum Shell said:
Very brütal. Also, I know this port obviously aims for a retro feel, but would you object to adding a secrets counter or some other kind of indicator?

If not an actual in-game total, I'd be happy just to have a message or sound for secrets. I'm aware that this makes some maps act strangely (one TNT map, I think, has an entire staircase tagged as secret), but there is something satisfying about a nice little jingle.

Old Post 12-15-14 02:54 #
WildWeasel is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Krazov
Junior Member


Posts: 107
Registered: 03-14



WildWeasel said:
(one TNT map, I think, has an entire staircase tagged as secret)


Wasn’t it E4M6? http://doomwiki.org/wiki/E4M6:_Agai...edly_%28Doom%29

The level officialy has, like, 22 secrets but most of them are in first secret. http://www.classicdoom.com/maps/d1secs/e4m6.htm

IIRC.

Old Post 12-15-14 08:33 #
Krazov is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Nixot
Nowits


Posts: 290
Registered: 06-09


Random segfaults on the Linux build, after about a minute of play, can't get past the second room on e1m1

Old Post 12-15-14 10:17 #
Nixot is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



WildWeasel said:

If not an actual in-game total, I'd be happy just to have a message or sound for secrets. I'm aware that this makes some maps act strangely (one TNT map, I think, has an entire staircase tagged as secret), but there is something satisfying about a nice little jingle.



I've been considering this, as it's been suggested before. Maybe in the next version. And as for any maps from the official IWADs that have too many unnecessary secret linedefs, I'd put in specific fixes for.


Nixot said:
Random segfaults on the Linux build, after about a minute of play, can't get past the second room on e1m1


And this is why it's "unsupported". If anyone has the time and inclination to trace why these crashes are occurring, I'd greatly appreciate it! :)

Old Post 12-15-14 20:02 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
kb1
Member


Posts: 460
Registered: 11-06



bradharding said:
As for the shadows, they're generated dynamically, so no changes will be needed there.
In layman's terms, how do your shadows work?

Old Post 12-15-14 23:12 #
kb1 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
bradharding
Junior Member


Posts: 237
Registered: 08-12



kb1 said:
In layman's terms, how do your shadows work?


For each map object that gets a shadow, another map object is created in the same spot. The shadow's sprite is updated when the object's sprite is, squashed to 10% of its height, and drawn in translucent black. The shadow's z-position is updated to the floor height of wherever the object is.

Old Post 12-15-14 23:33 #
bradharding is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
RUSH
Member


Posts: 377
Registered: 04-14


So, any chance for 60 fps capabilities in the future? If not, can somebody please tell me how to render zDoom so it makes the aspect ratio square on my monitor (4:3 I believe was the original?) instead of 16:9. Thanks

Old Post 12-16-14 04:58 #
RUSH is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Slipgate Ranger
Newbie


Posts: 3
Registered: 12-14


I've been playing with DoomRetro for quite some time now. I'm really enjoying the extra goodies, and at the same time enjoy the vanilla feel of it overall.

Old Post 12-16-14 06:01 #
Slipgate Ranger is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Average
Member


Posts: 460
Registered: 05-11



RUSH said:
So, any chance for 60 fps capabilities in the future? If not, can somebody please tell me how to render zDoom so it makes the aspect ratio square on my monitor (4:3 I believe was the original?) instead of 16:9. Thanks


If you go into the Video Options menu at the top there are options for setting your aspect ratio. You can force what you like there. :)

Old Post 12-16-14 09:39 #
Average is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Krazov
Junior Member


Posts: 107
Registered: 03-14



Average said:
If you go into the Video Options menu at the top there are options for setting your aspect ratio. You can force what you like there. :)


Graphic card setup might be necessary, as well. I remember my previous card had option stretch, regardless of proportion, checked by default.

But that’s offtopic.

Old Post 12-16-14 09:48 #
Krazov is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
kb1
Member


Posts: 460
Registered: 11-06



bradharding said:


For each map object that gets a shadow, another map object is created in the same spot. The shadow's sprite is updated when the object's sprite is, squashed to 10% of its height, and drawn in translucent black. The shadow's z-position is updated to the floor height of wherever the object is.

So you actually generate a new sprite at run time based on the sprite being displayed? Nice!

Old Post 12-16-14 18:51 #
kb1 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 309
Registered: 08-04


sorry if doing this doesn't have to do with the engine itself, but are you planning on adding support for the newly released original full rotation sprites by Romero?

Old Post 12-16-14 19:09 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Platinum Shell
Forum Regular


Posts: 845
Registered: 08-11


I don't believe they need any support since they fill in frames that engines already were mirroring...however, I do notice some bad jittering with a few things while using the sprite fix with this port; short blue torches jitter to the left and health bonuses and megaspheres sink into the ground for a frame.

Old Post 12-16-14 22:59 #
Platinum Shell is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 309
Registered: 08-04


How does the priority order work for loading multiple pwads? I've been having some issues loading a couple pwads when playing.

The issue is described on this thread page of the sprite fixing project:
http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthr...125#post1330125

Can't get the sprite fix project to load along with this one properly: http://www.doomworld.com/vb/wads-mo...sta42-dehacked/

I'me loading them by using the crtl_click method in the launcher.

Just posting here cause wasn't sure if it was a bug or really worth posting as an issue in github page.

Old Post 12-18-14 22:12 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Linguica


Posts: 4091
Registered: 05-00



Platinum Shell said:
I do notice some bad jittering with a few things while using the sprite fix with this port; short blue torches jitter to the left and health bonuses and megaspheres sink into the ground for a frame.
I'm pretty sure Doom Retro hardcodes in fixes for jittering sprites by tweaking the offsets of certain frames. So loading a fixed sprites WAD will actually make those frames appear to move in the other direction.

edit: haha yeah Doom Retro actually incorporates stuff directly from the Minor Sprite Fixing Project, and thereby accidentally breaks when you actually use the Minor Sprite Fixing Project.

edit 2: Looking at the source, I see:
code:
if (i < iwad_sprites.numlumps && lump->size != iwad_sprites.lumps[i].size) { int j = 0; while (sproffsets[j].name[0]) { if (!strcasecmp(sproffsets[j].name, lump->name)) sproffsets[j].canmodify = false; j++; } }

Which looks to me like Doom Retro will ignore the hardcoded offset changes if there is a new PWAD sprite frame, but only if it is a different size (probably to account for the possibility that someone accidentally merged IWAD sprites into their PWAD)... but since the Minor Sprite Fixing Project is literally the exact same sprites but just shifted a little, they have the exact same size anyway, and so Doom Retro doesn't realize they're actually different. That's a pretty hilarious unintended consequence.

Old Post 12-18-14 22:33 #
Linguica is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11555
Registered: 07-07


This kind of fixes should be limited to IWAD resources only. (And the IWAD needs to be authenticated as needing these fixes, for example with a sha1/md5/crc32 check, to avoid applying a Doom sprite tweak on a Freedoom sprite for example).

It's relatively easy to know whether a lump comes from the IWAD or not, by looking at its number.

Old Post 12-18-14 22:44 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 309
Registered: 08-04


any idea why this wad seems to cancel out the blue/green blood that DR has built in for the cacos and barons?

http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?f...es/rebalanc.zip

Old Post 12-19-14 10:34 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (17): « First ... « 14 15 16 [17]  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > DOOM RETRO v1.6.4 (updated December 10, 2014)

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.