Doom Marine
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Special Interest > Doom Speed Demos > Doom2 4-player built nomonster full run
Pages (2): [1] 2 »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Looper
Member


Posts: 475
Registered: 07-09


Hello. I made a 4-player built nomonsters run through the whole doom2. I hope you enjoy it even if it's nomonsters. As Andy O. said, it would be too much of a headache to do a co-op built run with monsters around.

I didn't think much about those fast turns etc. so it's probably little confusing demo, but it presents some new tricks. Notice that it doesn't show the time nor total time in intermission screen because 4 players, but with prboom+ that's not a problem. I hope you enjoy.

Time: 9:41

Attachment: 30bt0941.zip
This has been downloaded 187 time(s).

Old Post 04-10-12 19:13 #
Looper is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Memfis
Forum Legend


Posts: 4803
Registered: 04-07


Awesome! So many cool tricks. Funny how players shoot each other, and thingrunning on map31 is beyond hilarious. After map29, I was like :oooo
I guess I'll have to watch this a few times to fully understand everything. :) Would be cool if someone made a video out of this with switching cameras to show the most important parts.

Old Post 04-10-12 20:18 #
Memfis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2709
Registered: 01-04


ha-ha! Make d2qd .cam file for better understanding what's happening there. Or make split screen youtube video with all four players.

Old Post 04-10-12 20:20 #
entryway is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Looper
Member


Posts: 475
Registered: 07-09


I would upload them to youtube but if I use fraps to capture it, all the 4 demos desync about 1 second every 1 minute :(

Is there in-game built lmp to avi converter (I remember seeing a thread about that)? Maybe that doesn't desync like fraps so it would be easy to fit four videos in one video :)

How does that .cam thing work?

Old Post 04-10-12 21:01 #
Looper is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2709
Registered: 01-04



Paska said:
How does that .cam thing work?

It contains x,y,z,angle of camera for each tick. Some time ago I added support for Donner's d2dq cam.cam file, but not commited it. If somebody need it, I'll commit. I do not know any tools for creating cam files except hex editor, but it should not be hard to write something simple.

Old Post 04-10-12 21:40 #
entryway is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
jongo
Member


Posts: 305
Registered: 07-07


very interesting demo, had to watch it few times in slowmo, constantly f12ing and pausing to understand what's happening. Liked maps 29,30,31 the most, great trickery :) Perhaps a 2-way coop run with monsters is buildable, what do you think? Or would it still be the hell to manipulate things?

Old Post 04-11-12 12:34 #
jongo is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
dew
experts


Posts: 3056
Registered: 05-08


this is, for the lack of better words, fucking brilliant. 29-31 are jawdropping indeed!

Old Post 04-11-12 16:35 #
dew is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
CodeImp
Moderator


Posts: 1501
Registered: 12-03



Paska said:
I would upload them to youtube but if I use fraps to capture it, all the 4 demos desync about 1 second every 1 minute :(
The video recording is probably slowing down the game rendering. But the result sounds odd, because Doom is completely frame-based. If the engine can't push the wanted 35 FPS, the game should run slower, but should not go out-of-sync. Maybe there is some option in PrBoom turned on that allows frame skipping? Might want to play with such options.

Old Post 04-11-12 18:45 #
CodeImp is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Joe Capricorn
Green Marine


Posts: 40
Registered: 12-04


How do I watch this? I tried using prBoom+ but it would go out of sync during the first level.

The player would hit a corner instead of going into the room with brown and not be able to get to the exit.

Old Post 04-11-12 19:03 #
Joe Capricorn is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Looper
Member


Posts: 475
Registered: 07-09



CodeImp said:
The video recording is probably slowing down the game rendering. But the result sounds odd, because Doom is completely frame-based. If the engine can't push the wanted 35 FPS, the game should run slower, but should not go out-of-sync. Maybe there is some option in PrBoom turned on that allows frame skipping? Might want to play with such options.


Well, if screen freezes for 0.03sec it will stay on the result of course :p
And the freezing is random which ends in about 1sec for every 1min desync. No matter what engine plays it :)

I will try this some day http://www.doomworld.com/vb/doom-sp...youtube-videos/
That probably works better than fraps.

Old Post 04-11-12 19:12 #
Looper is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
eargosedown
Forum Regular


Posts: 913
Registered: 12-04


Map 29... I'm still trying to comprehend what I just saw o.o

Old Post 04-11-12 19:29 #
eargosedown is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 10706
Registered: 07-07



Paska said:
Is there in-game built lmp to avi converter (I remember seeing a thread about that)?

Latest version of PrBoom+ does have a feature for that, coded by Natt.

Old Post 04-11-12 19:47 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Memfis
Forum Legend


Posts: 4803
Registered: 04-07



Joe Capricorn said:
How do I watch this? I tried using prBoom+ but it would go out of sync during the first level.

The player would hit a corner instead of going into the room with brown and not be able to get to the exit.


Perhaps you have an older version of doom2.wad? Use this page and a program like this one to check.

Old Post 04-11-12 23:59 #
Memfis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
miffe2000
Newbie


Posts: 3
Registered: 04-12


Awesome work Paska!

I rendererd this with prboom-plus and uploaded to youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1T7veqA9gM

Edit: Changed link to one with fixed audio

Last edited by miffe2000 on 04-12-12 at 01:23

Old Post 04-12-12 00:06 #
miffe2000 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
lnxr0x
Warming Up


Posts: 21
Registered: 09-11


That is amazing !! Just blasting each other for shortcuts !!

Old Post 04-12-12 01:54 #
lnxr0x is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2709
Registered: 01-04



miffe2000 said:
I rendererd this with prboom-plus and uploaded to youtube

Can you explain how you did it? Did you use Avisynth:
v1=AviSource("1.avi").crop(...)
v2=AviSource("2.avi").crop(...)
StackHorizontal(v1,v2)

or something else?

Last edited by entryway on 04-12-12 at 09:33

Old Post 04-12-12 09:27 #
entryway is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
miffe2000
Newbie


Posts: 3
Registered: 04-12



entryway said:

Can you explain how you did it?



I used ffmpeg to encode the video, commandline was:
code:
ffmpeg -i p1.mkv -filter 'movie=p2.mkv [p2]; movie=p3.mkv [p3]; movie=p4.mkv [p4]; [in] pad=1280:960:0:0:black [p1]; [p1][p2] overlay=640:0 [p1+p2]; [p1+p2][p3] overlay=0:480 [p1+p2+p3]; [p1+p2+p3][p4] overlay=640:480 [out]' -vcodec libx264 -an -y out.mkv


Sound was split out into .wavs from the four .mkvs using ffmpeg and merged with sox and encoded with lame
code:
for N in `seq 1 4`; ffmpeg -i p$N.mkv p$N.wav sox -m p1.wav p2.wav t1.wav sox -m p3.wav p4.wav t2.wav sox -m t1.wav t2.wav out.wav lame --preset 128 --cbr out.wav


And then video and audio was muxed with ffmpeg with:
code:
ffmpeg -i out.mkv -i out.mp3 -vcodec copy -acodec copy final.mkv

Old Post 04-12-12 12:22 #
miffe2000 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Looper
Member


Posts: 475
Registered: 07-09


Heh, nice. Suddenly it's @ youtube. Thanks miffe2000.

Could you replace the "by Paska" with "by Looper", please?

I guess you should be more careful with uploading videos without authors permission? But it doesn't bother me. You did good job. The video is just how I wanted it to be.

Old Post 04-12-12 13:48 #
Looper is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ryback
Member


Posts: 390
Registered: 06-01


Wow... in map29, are the two Doomguys thingrunning off each other? Great stuff.


entryway said:
It contains x,y,z,angle of camera for each tick. Some time ago I added support for Donner's d2dq cam.cam file, but not commited it. If somebody need it, I'll commit.

I'd actually like to see this.

Old Post 04-12-12 14:30 #
Ryback is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Miffe
Newbie


Posts: 5
Registered: 08-00


Yay! Managed to resurrect my old account.


Paska said:
Could you replace the "by Paska" with "by Looper", please?

Done.

Old Post 04-12-12 15:14 #
Miffe is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Creaphis
I will deliberately take a contrary position just for the sake of writing incredibly long arguments


Posts: 4168
Registered: 10-05



miffe2000 said:
Awesome work Paska!

I rendererd this with prboom-plus and uploaded to youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1T7veqA9gM

Edit: Changed link to one with fixed audio



If it was possible to watch Youtube videos in slow motion this would be perfect.

Question for entryway: Is is possible to code PrBoom+ so that the "walkcam" demo playback camera can move and turn at full speed even when watching a demo in slow motion? When I use this camera mode I usually find that it's hard to keep up with the action.

Ninja edit: While we're at it, it would also nice if the "wipe screen" effect wasn't slowed down by slow motion.

Old Post 04-12-12 16:18 #
Creaphis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Miffe
Newbie


Posts: 5
Registered: 08-00



Creaphis said:
If it was possible to watch Youtube videos in slow motion this would be perfect.



If you use the html5 version it's possible to changes the speed by clicking on the gear icon.

http://youtube.com/html5

Old Post 04-12-12 19:50 #
Miffe is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2709
Registered: 01-04



Miffe said:
If you use the html5 version it's possible to changes the speed by clicking on the gear icon.

http://youtube.com/html5


Also you need Chrome. 'Speed' function does not work with Firefox, at least with my Firefox.

Old Post 04-12-12 20:13 #
entryway is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
jongo
Member


Posts: 305
Registered: 07-07


Neither it does with my Opera.

Old Post 04-12-12 21:14 #
jongo is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 10706
Registered: 07-07


How much of that is incomplete implementation of HTML5 standards, and how much is Google's bid for complete hegemony over the Internet?

Old Post 04-12-12 21:36 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Fredrik


Posts: 11684
Registered: 05-00


Very well done. Map29 was insane.

Old Post 04-12-12 23:42 #
Fredrik is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Creaphis
I will deliberately take a contrary position just for the sake of writing incredibly long arguments


Posts: 4168
Registered: 10-05


Another question: is the "XDRE" utility freely available?

Old Post 04-13-12 21:06 #
Creaphis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
xepop
Junior Member


Posts: 232
Registered: 10-09



Creaphis said:
Another question: is the "XDRE" utility freely available?

It's sole purpose was to have a dre without braindead keybinds for myself. It's buggy, savestates desyncing everywhere and all around horrible as I'm not a good coder myself (basically no experience whatsoever) and I kind of just followed what rambobones left.

users.jyu.fi/~jomihaka/xdre.zip

Old Post 04-14-12 19:51 #
xepop is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Creaphis
I will deliberately take a contrary position just for the sake of writing incredibly long arguments


Posts: 4168
Registered: 10-05


That's one hell of an endorsement. I'm downloading it anyway.

Old Post 04-15-12 20:40 #
Creaphis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Philnemba
Senior Member


Posts: 1181
Registered: 09-09


This is the most bizarre TAS demo I've ever seen!

Dumb question: Did you do this by yourself or did you have 3 other people helping you?

Old Post 04-22-12 08:48 #
Philnemba is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (2): [1] 2 »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Special Interest > Doom Speed Demos > Doom2 4-player built nomonster full run

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Message Board Statistics