Spider Mastermind
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Legality of a Doom Duke3D mod?
 
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 15:52. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


Doom has been redone in Duke Nukem 3D many times now but as far as I know, they were only several maps long.

Recently, I started on a project to do ALL maps, from Knee-Deep in the Dead, to Plutonia, and it's coming along quite well. I am currently working on E1M6. But something has occured to me, along the legal side of this.

As I understand it, when I have finished all the maps and release here and on Duke4, I have given the user an alternative way of playing the IWADs, effectively piracy.

Question 1: Am I correct?

Assuming the answer to question 1 is yes, then (Question 2) can I avoid this by somehow programming the game to require the 4 IWADs to run?

If not, the project will be abandoned and only Episode 1 will be put out. (Like cDoom)

Your help will be appreciated.

Old Post 08-07-12 12:09 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
40oz
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 7032
Registered: 08-07


well it's not exactly a direct conversion so I would assume you're okay. You might want to avoid using Doom textures to be safe, and using look-alikes instead.

Old Post 08-07-12 13:12 #
40oz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


thanks :)

I use Duke monsters/textures/items only, although the city sky is really crap :P

Old Post 08-07-12 13:15 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
fraggle
Filled with the code of Doom


Posts: 7829
Registered: 07-00


First of all, please set descriptive titles for threads you create.

To answer your actual question: technically it's copyright violation because you're copying the levels. In practise that's only an issue if anyone (ie. Id) cares, and I doubt they do.

Old Post 08-07-12 14:51 #
fraggle is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


Sorry Fraggle.

Would still be nice if I could make it need the IWADs though.

Old Post 08-07-12 16:00 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
TimeOfDeath
Forum Regular


Posts: 2772
Registered: 06-06


Just out of curiosity, how are you building the levels? Completely by hand or with a wad-to-map converter?

Old Post 08-07-12 16:13 #
TimeOfDeath is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
NiuHaka
Member


Posts: 588
Registered: 06-10


This project of yours falls well within the boundaries of "Fair use". It even seems to fall completely into "Parody" within "Fair use". Parody does not need to mock or make fun of the subject to be considered parody. In this sense it would be "Blank Parody" which means to take the original form of the work and present it in a different way.

Old Post 08-07-12 16:32 #
NiuHaka is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
ASD
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 03-09


You could write an installer which requires a v1.9 IWAD. I'm not good at programming but that was just a thougt.

Old Post 08-07-12 16:33 #
ASD is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12



TimeOfDeath said:
Just out of curiosity, how are you building the levels? Completely by hand or with a wad-to-map converter?


I use Wad2Map, but because it goes all weird, everything has to be textured. While I try to use similar textures to Dooms, sometimes I use different ones. I actually started months ago by hand, but got to E2M3, found out about DosBox. The previous versions looked bad anyway :P


Thanks NiuHaka, much appreciated :)

ASD, thanks for the suggestion but I'm not entirely sure how it would work :/

Last edited by Eris Falling on 08-07-12 at 16:47

Old Post 08-07-12 16:41 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Pirx
Forum Regular


Posts: 796
Registered: 11-04


what advantages does the build engine offer over modern doom ports?

Old Post 08-08-12 23:51 #
Pirx is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Sodaholic
I feel justified yet disgusted with myself at the same time


Posts: 3001
Registered: 04-07



Pirx said:
what advantages does the build engine offer over modern doom ports?

Non-BSP-based architecture, for one. You can just move vertexes in-game and it will work just fine. That, and its portal-based nature. Sure, EE has portals, but it's still BSP-based.

Old Post 08-09-12 01:53 #
Sodaholic is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
GoatLord
I really should think before I post.


Posts: 2773
Registered: 07-02


Now, I'm not sure I understand this whole BSP business. There are moving sectors and whatnot in source ports, how is that different from moving architecture in Duke?

Old Post 08-09-12 09:10 #
GoatLord is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11546
Registered: 07-07



Pirx said:
what advantages does the build engine offer over modern doom ports?


For recreating the original Doom maps? Absolutely none.

In a more general way, there are things the Build engine does that modern ports can't, not even ZDoom.

Watch this to the end, the most impressive effects are not in the beginning of the demonstration:


The trade-off is that the portal system is slower than Doom's more static BSP system. That means that absolutely huge maps (e.g., The Hag's Fingers in Sunder) are pretty much impossible on the Build engine even with modern hardware; whereas you can get acceptable performances with well-optimized Doom ports.

For maps the size of the original Doom IWADs, this won't be a problem of course.


GoatLord said:
Now, I'm not sure I understand this whole BSP business. There are moving sectors and whatnot in source ports, how is that different from moving architecture in Duke?

Very different. First, polyobjects are not moving sectors. The "inside" of the polyobject is not a sector. If you noclip inside a polyobject, you won't be in the polyobject sector since it doesn't exist, you'll be in the normal underlaying sector. Sectors do not move at all.

Secondly, the Build engine is able to have individual vertex move, deforming the shape of the sector. That isn't possible at all.

Old Post 08-09-12 09:53 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
printz
CRAZY DUMB ZEALOT


Posts: 8906
Registered: 06-06


Why not just use the Quake engine?

__________________
Automatic Wolfenstein - Version 1.0 - also on Android

Old Post 08-09-12 10:25 #
printz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


DukeDoom (as I've named it) is not a TC, so I am not making it because of improved engines although I do use deep water (not submergable), slopes, and ambient sounds. The only disadvantage I can think of in this case is the lack of Tag 666 and 667, which made E1M8 really annoying to make.

However like I say, it is not a TC, so you would be fighting Mini-Battlelords instead of Barons and Cycloids instead of Cyberdemons, as well as Duke3D textures instead of Doom's.

Old Post 08-09-12 10:40 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
GoatLord
I really should think before I post.


Posts: 2773
Registered: 07-02


And all this time I thought that Zdoom and such brought Doom up to speed with Build.

Old Post 08-09-12 15:15 #
GoatLord is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Nomad
Not dumb enough to get a custom title


Posts: 2761
Registered: 04-04


There's some really awesome portal effects in that vid. Makes me sad that there isn't really an equivalent to GZDoom for BUILD.

Old Post 08-09-12 18:53 #
Nomad is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


The polymer renderer adds some really cool lighting, but as far as I know that's all it does, and needs like the best video card in the world to run >.<

Old Post 08-09-12 19:09 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
ASD
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 03-09


Offtopic: will it be vanilla compatible?

Old Post 08-09-12 20:43 #
ASD is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12



ASD said:
Offtopic: will it be vanilla compatible?


it will not be compatible with Vanilla Duke either, solely because there is 6 episodes and 3 of them contain 32 maps.

Last edited by Eris Falling on 08-10-12 at 16:41

Old Post 08-10-12 10:06 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Slippy_Pig
Warming Up


Posts: 20
Registered: 07-12


I can't wait to play Plutonia in Duke3d :D

Old Post 08-10-12 14:50 #
Slippy_Pig is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12



Slippy_Pig said:
I can't wait to play Plutonia in Duke3d :D


Thanks Slippy, tbh neither can I, been fantasising about Go 2 It, Odyssey of Noises and Hunted already. 95 levels to Congo..

EDIT: Actually there's a bunch of misaligned skies in E1M5 and E1M8 (I did E1M8 first), which can't be seen in the map editor..really bugging me. Sometimes misalignment doesn't look too bad, depending on the texture. Skies aren't among those textures >=@

Last edited by Eris Falling on 08-10-12 at 16:28

Old Post 08-10-12 16:20 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
TB171
Junior Member


Posts: 219
Registered: 02-12


Can't wait for release if it happens :P But I'm sure there is no harm recreating the maps from the Doom IWADS into DN3D. Can't image E1M1 DN3D'd :D

Old Post 08-10-12 20:20 #
TB171 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 3097
Registered: 07-12


Thanks TB :)

E1M1 looks alright, although I might go over the texturing in the nukage room. And I guess that in terms of legal stuff, it's not Doom, it's Duke3D with Doom's levels. And Duke3D itself is already modified, I've shuffled enemy characteristics about a bit. I took Commander (Revenant) and made a palette 19 variant for the mancubus. The variant has a laser minigun. Can't be bad :P

Old Post 08-10-12 20:44 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Pirx
Forum Regular


Posts: 796
Registered: 11-04



Gez said:


In a more general way, there are things the Build engine does that modern ports can't, not even ZDoom.

[...]

The trade-off is that the portal system is slower than Doom's more static BSP system. That means that absolutely huge maps (e.g., The Hag's Fingers in Sunder) are pretty much impossible on the Build engine even with modern hardware; whereas you can get acceptable performances with well-optimized Doom ports.




thank you.

well, this portal tech was marvelous when duke3d came out. iirc underwater was a separate sector, and you moved seamlessly between these sectors when diving and surfacing.

and the editor was intuitive and fun. i and a friend built a few maps with it, (one a recreation of doom2 map1, which grew to silly dimensions over time), all aimed at a friend who used to LAN with us and either camped or ran for the exit. so, camping spots and exits became elaborate traps, using cameras, crushers, teleporters, invisible bombs and gas containers. the best one was an exit, very obviously guarded by crushers, a lava pit and tripmines, so we knew he'll try to reach it no matter how often he died... only to be teleported into a fish tank in which he drowned miserably, while we entered the execution room through a secret to gloat over him. it was the only time i dabbled in mapping, and later we returned to doom as we liked its more serious approach better. anyway, i'd love to find these maps again.

Old Post 08-11-12 00:42 #
Pirx is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Nomad
Not dumb enough to get a custom title


Posts: 2761
Registered: 04-04



Pirx said:



thank you.

well, this portal tech was marvelous when duke3d came out. iirc underwater was a separate sector, and you moved seamlessly between these sectors when diving and surfacing.

and the editor was intuitive and fun. i and a friend built a few maps with it, (one a recreation of doom2 map1, which grew to silly dimensions over time), all aimed at a friend who used to LAN with us and either camped or ran for the exit. so, camping spots and exits became elaborate traps, using cameras, crushers, teleporters, invisible bombs and gas containers. the best one was an exit, very obviously guarded by crushers, a lava pit and tripmines, so we knew he'll try to reach it no matter how often he died... only to be teleported into a fish tank in which he drowned miserably, while we entered the execution room through a secret to gloat over him. it was the only time i dabbled in mapping, and later we returned to doom as we liked its more serious approach better. anyway, i'd love to find these maps again.



Hahaha, that sounds incredible. If you find the maps, I'd like to take a look at them!

Old Post 08-11-12 01:01 #
Nomad is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 15:52. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Legality of a Doom Duke3D mod?

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.