Doom Marine
User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Things about Doom you just found out
Pages (127): « First ... « 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 » ... Last »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 15:46. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
BloodyAcid
Senior Member


Posts: 1332
Registered: 09-11



Shadow Hog said:
Noticed this yesterday in the Doom 2 In Name Only thread: there's a face in SKY2 of Doom 2.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/1...4/Rsky2Face.gif

Looks like Walter White to me, honestly.

(Yes I know this is just pareidolia, shut up)

I spot an 'A' to the left of it (slightly higher)

Old Post Jan 1 2013 19:50 #
BloodyAcid is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Cell
Forum Staple


Posts: 2725
Registered: 08-10



KiiiYiiiKiiiA said:
Those with OCD may not wish to continue reading this post.

From TNT evilution map 01.

[IMAGE]

Check the closest pillar relative to the others. I had never noticed this before.

Let that be a cheap prototype over there :D
And, several METAL2 edges are "cut off".

Old Post Jan 2 2013 11:07 #
Cell is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
MSPaintR0cks
Member


Posts: 268
Registered: 09-09



Shadow Hog said:
Noticed this yesterday in the Doom 2 In Name Only thread: there's a face in SKY2 of Doom 2.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/1...4/Rsky2Face.gif

Looks like Walter White to me, honestly.

(Yes I know this is just pareidolia, shut up)

This is pretty creepy. D:
Wasn`t there a similiar face in of the posters for Cloverfield? I think it was somewhere in the clouds too.

Old Post Jan 2 2013 13:40 #
MSPaintR0cks is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Avoozl
Forum Staple


Posts: 3551
Registered: 06-09


I remember a face appearing in the sky of one of Skulltag's deathmatch maps.

Old Post Jan 2 2013 13:47 #
Avoozl is offline Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
qoncept
Member


Posts: 434
Registered: 12-11


It's Jesus.

Old Post Jan 2 2013 15:45 #
qoncept is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Scypek2
Member


Posts: 600
Registered: 01-12


And, of course, there's an eye in the middle of e4 sky.

Old Post Jan 2 2013 18:12 #
Scypek2 is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Cell
Forum Staple


Posts: 2725
Registered: 08-10



Scypek2 said:
And, of course, there's an eye in the middle of e4 sky.

Satan keeps an eye on you.
Or sends a couple of barking textures to interrupt your dream :D

Old Post Jan 2 2013 20:53 #
Cell is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Scypek2
Member


Posts: 600
Registered: 01-12



Cell said:
Satan keeps an eye on you.
Or sends a couple of barking textures to interrupt your dream :D

oh man, you remembered this one? :D I almost forgot it myself...

On topic, I don't think I've found out anything new about doom recently... maybe except that pain elemental's body feels quite like a big baloon, but that's not in the game.

Old Post Jan 2 2013 23:30 #
Scypek2 is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
BaronOfStuff
Senior Member


Posts: 1835
Registered: 06-08



Revenant100 said:
I just found out that the Lost Soul's front-facing walking frames are different in the Jaguar, 32X, PlayStation, and Saturn ports of Doom:
--Lost Soul images--

Console is on the left, and the PC original is of course on the right.

Not quite. The original images are actually the ones on the left; my copy of Registered Doom v1.2 contains these sprites. I don't know what caused the shoddy, badly-animated edit to be made, but it's very odd that they'd replace the much better original in subsequent versions.

(EDIT: Unless of course, an even older version uses the wonky sprites... who'd have thought a game approaching 20 years old would still have us scratching our heads over stuff like this?)

Last edited by BaronOfStuff on Jan 5 2013 at 00:32

Old Post Jan 5 2013 00:08 #
BaronOfStuff is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2120
Registered: 05-12


From this post I just learned that linedefs can go in the middle of sectors. Insanity!

Old Post Jan 5 2013 01:59 #
schwerpunk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2305
Registered: 01-08


Just found out that Doom 64 has only 25 levels. Every other level in the 32 is a secret level, or a special warp only level.

Also, Hectic is the most evil level in any Doom game. What exactly do you get from beating it?

Old Post Jan 5 2013 02:11 #
Ragnor is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Dragonsbrethren
Forum Staple


Posts: 2661
Registered: 03-09



Ragnor said:
Also, Hectic is the most evil level in any Doom game. What exactly do you get from beating it?

Features Menu

Old Post Jan 5 2013 02:23 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2305
Registered: 01-08


Thanks, that should be added to doomwiki.

Does Doom 64 EX feature that menu?

Old Post Jan 5 2013 03:00 #
Ragnor is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
scalliano
This door is opened elsewhere...


Posts: 1306
Registered: 08-09


Yes.

Old Post Jan 5 2013 03:04 #
scalliano is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2305
Registered: 01-08


I just found out the rocket launcher and BFG have a "safety catch"

Old Post Jan 5 2013 06:28 #
Ragnor is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2120
Registered: 05-12



Ragnor said:
I just found out the rocket launcher and BFG have a "safety catch"

What do you mean...?

Old Post Jan 5 2013 14:16 #
schwerpunk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Memfis
Honestly, semen doesn't taste that bad.


Posts: 7112
Registered: 04-07


Try to pick up RL/BFG while holding the fire button and you'll understand.

Old Post Jan 5 2013 14:24 #
Memfis is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12519
Registered: 07-07



Ragnor said:
Thanks, that should be added to doomwiki.

Does Doom 64 EX feature that menu?

It does, and there are more cheat/borderline cheat features in it, such as enabling jumping.

Old Post Jan 5 2013 14:55 #
Gez is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Jimi
Senior Member


Posts: 1681
Registered: 06-04



Memfis said:
Try to pick up RL/BFG while holding the fire button and you'll understand.

Or just to change to them and start holding the fire button while waiting for the weapon to change.

And I hate it. Usually I want the RL to fire as soon as I've switched to it, because otherwise the enemies get so close to me that I'll damage myself. Even if I now know about the "safety catch", often I forget it, and the enemies get even more close.

To me it feels more like an "unsafety catch".

Old Post Jan 5 2013 15:32 #
Jimi is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2120
Registered: 05-12


Lost Soul's delight-catch, is more like it.

Which is one of the major reasons I use plasma on Pain Elementals, if I've got it.

Old Post Jan 5 2013 17:42 #
schwerpunk is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
joe-ilya
I once dreamt of a humanic penetration interaction


Posts: 3663
Registered: 10-12


the bfg had a previous version

Old Post Jan 5 2013 20:03 #
joe-ilya is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Cell
Forum Staple


Posts: 2725
Registered: 08-10



Scypek2 said:
oh man, you remembered this one? :D I almost forgot it myself...

Old Post Jan 5 2013 20:04 #
Cell is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
kristus
Megablast!


Posts: 10742
Registered: 07-00


This: http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthr...879#post1136879

Old Post Jan 7 2013 08:01 #
kristus is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2305
Registered: 01-08


Heretic also has the Safety Catch feature, but only on the Phoenix Rod. Strife bizarrely doesnt have it, youd think it would with the missile launcher, two grenade launchers, and the two wepaons that hurt you when firing.

Old Post Jan 7 2013 09:14 #
Ragnor is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Cell
Forum Staple


Posts: 2725
Registered: 08-10



kristus said:
This: http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthr...879#post1136879

You better not anyway. Not many more evil things are there than a Cyb without any precautionary signs.
"I'm Cyberdemon, hear me roar!"

Old Post Jan 7 2013 20:56 #
Cell is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Avoozl
Forum Staple


Posts: 3551
Registered: 06-09


I just noticed the muzzleflashes for the shotgun has purple/pink pixels around the edges.

Old Post Jan 9 2013 10:48 #
Avoozl is offline Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
RjY
anARCHy


Posts: 1032
Registered: 05-02


Last year (I meant to post this before...) I discovered that the Boom weapon switching code will implement the preference order "berserk fist > chainsaw > normal fist" if you put fist above chainsaw in the settings. Since putting fist above chainsaw is pretty nonsensical, unless you happened to have seen the special case in the code, I never noticed this before. (I've never seen it documented either, perhaps I missed something)

It has changed my life, I no longer waste time pussyfooting around chainsaws in case a berserk box shows up later.

Old Post Jan 9 2013 15:04 #
RjY is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Memfis
Honestly, semen doesn't taste that bad.


Posts: 7112
Registered: 04-07


Hey RjY, I meant to ask you this when I read your blog post about this weapon switching stuff, but I forgot. What are weapons 8 and 9? And what is 1, is it fist or chainsaw or both? Also will this stuff work with -complevel 9 or does it enforce some specific weapon order?

Old Post Jan 9 2013 15:20 #
Memfis is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Ribbiks
Senior Member


Posts: 1522
Registered: 02-11


speaking of weapon switching...

is there some way to disable forced switching when running out of ammo after deliberately choosing a weapon (prboom)? for example I run out of cells so it switches to ssg, I run towards a patch of cell ammo and preemptively change to bfg/plasma, but because I have no ammo it immediately switches back to ssg. Is this a complevel thing or is this hidden in prefs somewhere? (I tried perusing but couldn't find it)

Old Post Jan 9 2013 16:38 #
Ribbiks is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12519
Registered: 07-07


Weapons 8 and 9 are the chainsaw and supershotgun, presumably, following their order in the code:
code:
// The defined weapons, // including a marker indicating // user has not changed weapon. typedef enum { wp_fist, wp_pistol, wp_shotgun, wp_chaingun, wp_missile, wp_plasma, wp_bfg, wp_chainsaw, wp_supershotgun, NUMWEAPONS, // No pending weapon change. wp_nochange } weapontype_t;
In vanilla Doom, when you have the chainsaw in your inventory and press the 1 key, you do not select the chainsaw: you still select the fist. But there is a hack to replace it with the chainsaw, unless you have the berserk item or you are already using the chainsaw.
code:
if (newweapon == wp_fist && player->weaponowned[wp_chainsaw] && !(player->readyweapon == wp_chainsaw && player->powers[pw_strength])) { newweapon = wp_chainsaw; }
In plain English: "If the fists are selected, and the player owns a chainsaw but does not have the berserk or is not already using a chainsaw, then replace the selection of the fists by that of the chainsaw."


Likewise for the supershotgun:
code:
if ( (gamemode == commercial) && newweapon == wp_shotgun && player->weaponowned[wp_supershotgun] && player->readyweapon != wp_supershotgun) { newweapon = wp_supershotgun; }
"If we're in Doom II and the player selects the shotgun but has a supershotgun he isn't currently using, select the supershotgun instead."

Old Post Jan 9 2013 16:39 #
Gez is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 15:46. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (127): « First ... « 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 » ... Last »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Things about Doom you just found out

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.