Reaper Grimm
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Things about Doom you just found out
Pages (88): « First ... « 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 » ... Last »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 22:24. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
BloodyAcid
Senior Member


Posts: 1301
Registered: 09-11



Shadow Hog said:
Noticed this yesterday in the Doom 2 In Name Only thread: there's a face in SKY2 of Doom 2.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/1...4/Rsky2Face.gif

Looks like Walter White to me, honestly.

(Yes I know this is just pareidolia, shut up)

I spot an 'A' to the left of it (slightly higher)

Old Post 01-01-13 19:50 #
BloodyAcid is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Cell
Senior Member


Posts: 2400
Registered: 08-10



KiiiYiiiKiiiA said:
Those with OCD may not wish to continue reading this post.

From TNT evilution map 01.

[IMAGE]

Check the closest pillar relative to the others. I had never noticed this before.


Let that be a cheap prototype over there :D
And, several METAL2 edges are "cut off".

Old Post 01-02-13 11:07 #
Cell is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
MSPaintR0cks
Member


Posts: 268
Registered: 09-09



Shadow Hog said:
Noticed this yesterday in the Doom 2 In Name Only thread: there's a face in SKY2 of Doom 2.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/1...4/Rsky2Face.gif

Looks like Walter White to me, honestly.

(Yes I know this is just pareidolia, shut up)



This is pretty creepy. D:
Wasn`t there a similiar face in of the posters for Cloverfield? I think it was somewhere in the clouds too.

Old Post 01-02-13 13:40 #
MSPaintR0cks is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Avoozl
Forum Staple


Posts: 2668
Registered: 06-09


I remember a face appearing in the sky of one of Skulltag's deathmatch maps.

Old Post 01-02-13 13:47 #
Avoozl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
qoncept
Member


Posts: 434
Registered: 12-11


It's Jesus.

Old Post 01-02-13 15:45 #
qoncept is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Scypek2
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 01-12


And, of course, there's an eye in the middle of e4 sky.

Old Post 01-02-13 18:12 #
Scypek2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Cell
Senior Member


Posts: 2400
Registered: 08-10



Scypek2 said:
And, of course, there's an eye in the middle of e4 sky.

Satan keeps an eye on you.
Or sends a couple of barking textures to interrupt your dream :D

Old Post 01-02-13 20:53 #
Cell is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Scypek2
Member


Posts: 597
Registered: 01-12



Cell said:

Satan keeps an eye on you.
Or sends a couple of barking textures to interrupt your dream :D


oh man, you remembered this one? :D I almost forgot it myself...

On topic, I don't think I've found out anything new about doom recently... maybe except that pain elemental's body feels quite like a big baloon, but that's not in the game.

Old Post 01-02-13 23:30 #
Scypek2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
BaronOfStuff
Senior Member


Posts: 1311
Registered: 06-08



Revenant100 said:
I just found out that the Lost Soul's front-facing walking frames are different in the Jaguar, 32X, PlayStation, and Saturn ports of Doom:
--Lost Soul images--

Console is on the left, and the PC original is of course on the right.



Not quite. The original images are actually the ones on the left; my copy of Registered Doom v1.2 contains these sprites. I don't know what caused the shoddy, badly-animated edit to be made, but it's very odd that they'd replace the much better original in subsequent versions.

(EDIT: Unless of course, an even older version uses the wonky sprites... who'd have thought a game approaching 20 years old would still have us scratching our heads over stuff like this?)

Last edited by BaronOfStuff on 01-05-13 at 00:32

Old Post 01-05-13 00:08 #
BaronOfStuff is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2067
Registered: 05-12


From this post I just learned that linedefs can go in the middle of sectors. Insanity!

Old Post 01-05-13 01:59 #
schwerpunk is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2195
Registered: 01-08


Just found out that Doom 64 has only 25 levels. Every other level in the 32 is a secret level, or a special warp only level.

Also, Hectic is the most evil level in any Doom game. What exactly do you get from beating it?

Old Post 01-05-13 02:11 #
Ragnor is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Dragonsbrethren
Senior Member


Posts: 2472
Registered: 03-09



Ragnor said:
Also, Hectic is the most evil level in any Doom game. What exactly do you get from beating it?

Features Menu

Old Post 01-05-13 02:23 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2195
Registered: 01-08


Thanks, that should be added to doomwiki.

Does Doom 64 EX feature that menu?

Old Post 01-05-13 03:00 #
Ragnor is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
scalliano
This door is opened elsewhere...


Posts: 1201
Registered: 08-09


Yes.

Old Post 01-05-13 03:04 #
scalliano is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2195
Registered: 01-08


I just found out the rocket launcher and BFG have a "safety catch"

Old Post 01-05-13 06:28 #
Ragnor is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2067
Registered: 05-12



Ragnor said:
I just found out the rocket launcher and BFG have a "safety catch"
What do you mean...?

Old Post 01-05-13 14:16 #
schwerpunk is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Memfis
Forum Spammer


Posts: 5715
Registered: 04-07


Try to pick up RL/BFG while holding the fire button and you'll understand.

Old Post 01-05-13 14:24 #
Memfis is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11224
Registered: 07-07



Ragnor said:
Thanks, that should be added to doomwiki.

Does Doom 64 EX feature that menu?



It does, and there are more cheat/borderline cheat features in it, such as enabling jumping.

Old Post 01-05-13 14:55 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Jimi
Senior Member


Posts: 1506
Registered: 06-04



Memfis said:
Try to pick up RL/BFG while holding the fire button and you'll understand.


Or just to change to them and start holding the fire button while waiting for the weapon to change.

And I hate it. Usually I want the RL to fire as soon as I've switched to it, because otherwise the enemies get so close to me that I'll damage myself. Even if I now know about the "safety catch", often I forget it, and the enemies get even more close.

To me it feels more like an "unsafety catch".

Old Post 01-05-13 15:32 #
Jimi is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2067
Registered: 05-12


Lost Soul's delight-catch, is more like it.

Which is one of the major reasons I use plasma on Pain Elementals, if I've got it.

Old Post 01-05-13 17:42 #
schwerpunk is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
joe-ilya
Nescient Member


Posts: 2309
Registered: 10-12


the bfg had a previous version

Old Post 01-05-13 20:03 #
joe-ilya is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Cell
Senior Member


Posts: 2400
Registered: 08-10



Scypek2 said:

oh man, you remembered this one? :D I almost forgot it myself...


http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/250x250/32953110.jpg

Old Post 01-05-13 20:04 #
Cell is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
kristus
Megablast!


Posts: 10620
Registered: 07-00


This: http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthr...879#post1136879

Old Post 01-07-13 08:01 #
kristus is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ragnor
I do see the humour in a mod sneakily changing my title


Posts: 2195
Registered: 01-08


Heretic also has the Safety Catch feature, but only on the Phoenix Rod. Strife bizarrely doesnt have it, youd think it would with the missile launcher, two grenade launchers, and the two wepaons that hurt you when firing.

Old Post 01-07-13 09:14 #
Ragnor is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Cell
Senior Member


Posts: 2400
Registered: 08-10



kristus said:
This: http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthr...879#post1136879

You better not anyway. Not many more evil things are there than a Cyb without any precautionary signs.
"I'm Cyberdemon, hear me roar!"

Old Post 01-07-13 20:56 #
Cell is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Avoozl
Forum Staple


Posts: 2668
Registered: 06-09


I just noticed the muzzleflashes for the shotgun has purple/pink pixels around the edges.

Old Post 01-09-13 10:48 #
Avoozl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
RjY
anARCHy


Posts: 967
Registered: 05-02


Last year (I meant to post this before...) I discovered that the Boom weapon switching code will implement the preference order "berserk fist > chainsaw > normal fist" if you put fist above chainsaw in the settings. Since putting fist above chainsaw is pretty nonsensical, unless you happened to have seen the special case in the code, I never noticed this before. (I've never seen it documented either, perhaps I missed something)

It has changed my life, I no longer waste time pussyfooting around chainsaws in case a berserk box shows up later.

Old Post 01-09-13 15:04 #
RjY is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Memfis
Forum Spammer


Posts: 5715
Registered: 04-07


Hey RjY, I meant to ask you this when I read your blog post about this weapon switching stuff, but I forgot. What are weapons 8 and 9? And what is 1, is it fist or chainsaw or both? Also will this stuff work with -complevel 9 or does it enforce some specific weapon order?

Old Post 01-09-13 15:20 #
Memfis is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ribbiks
Senior Member


Posts: 1316
Registered: 02-11


speaking of weapon switching...

is there some way to disable forced switching when running out of ammo after deliberately choosing a weapon (prboom)? for example I run out of cells so it switches to ssg, I run towards a patch of cell ammo and preemptively change to bfg/plasma, but because I have no ammo it immediately switches back to ssg. Is this a complevel thing or is this hidden in prefs somewhere? (I tried perusing but couldn't find it)

Old Post 01-09-13 16:38 #
Ribbiks is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11224
Registered: 07-07


Weapons 8 and 9 are the chainsaw and supershotgun, presumably, following their order in the code:
code:
// The defined weapons, // including a marker indicating // user has not changed weapon. typedef enum { wp_fist, wp_pistol, wp_shotgun, wp_chaingun, wp_missile, wp_plasma, wp_bfg, wp_chainsaw, wp_supershotgun, NUMWEAPONS, // No pending weapon change. wp_nochange } weapontype_t;


In vanilla Doom, when you have the chainsaw in your inventory and press the 1 key, you do not select the chainsaw: you still select the fist. But there is a hack to replace it with the chainsaw, unless you have the berserk item or you are already using the chainsaw.

code:
if (newweapon == wp_fist && player->weaponowned[wp_chainsaw] && !(player->readyweapon == wp_chainsaw && player->powers[pw_strength])) { newweapon = wp_chainsaw; }


In plain English: "If the fists are selected, and the player owns a chainsaw but does not have the berserk or is not already using a chainsaw, then replace the selection of the fists by that of the chainsaw."


Likewise for the supershotgun:
code:
if ( (gamemode == commercial) && newweapon == wp_shotgun && player->weaponowned[wp_supershotgun] && player->readyweapon != wp_supershotgun) { newweapon = wp_supershotgun; }

"If we're in Doom II and the player selects the shotgun but has a supershotgun he isn't currently using, select the supershotgun instead."

Old Post 01-09-13 16:39 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 22:24. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (88): « First ... « 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 » ... Last »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom General > Things about Doom you just found out

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.