Weird impy thing
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > PrBoom-Plus, ver. 2.5.1.3
Pages (73): « First ... « 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 » ... Last »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Dragonsbrethren
Senior Member


Posts: 2398
Registered: 03-09


Music is the same as the PC music in the BFG Edition, only the original XBLA release uses different music assignments (but both ZDoom and Eternity adopt these assignments, since they're obviously what was intended). They're on the wiki:

http://doomwiki.org/wiki/No_Rest_for_the_Living

As noted there, the secret exit is on MAP04, goes to MAP09. The end text and Doom II monster shooting end sequence occur after MAP08.

Additionally, the PC BFG IWAD still has a secret exit switch on MAP02. It went to Level 33: Betray in the original Xbox version, which is still in the BFG wad, if you want to support that.

Old Post 10-17-13 19:23 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



Patrol1985 said:
but map31 is named "Wolfenstein" (instead of "IDKFA") and map32 is named "Grosse" (instead of "Keen").


Well, that was the easy part. Everything else regarding nerve.wad will be a lot harder to implement...

code:
diff --git a/src/d_main.c b/src/d_main.c index df6be42..afdc8c5 100644 --- a/src/d_main.c +++ b/src/d_main.c @@ -1689,6 +1689,12 @@ static void D_DoomMainSetup(void) lprintf(LO_INFO,"\n"); // killough 3/6/98: add a newline, by popular demand :) + if (bfgedition) + { + s_HUSTR_31 = "level 31: idkfa"; + s_HUSTR_32 = "level 32: keen"; + } + // e6y // option to disable automatic loading of dehacked-in-wad lump if (!M_CheckParm ("-nodeh"))

Old Post 10-18-13 11:52 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



Quasar said:
BEX blocks tolerate neither blank lines nor, in some cases at least, comments (!!!!).


But blank lines between stanzas are allowed in BEX format, right? They are even mandatory, right?

If not, I have seriously thrashed prboom-plus' BEX parser during the previous months... :/

Old Post 10-22-13 05:41 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
RjY
anARCHy


Posts: 943
Registered: 05-02


I think what Quasar meant is that blank lines are not tolerated _within_ blocks because a blank line _ends_ the block.

But please be reassured that blank lines between sections are fine, even needed.

Old Post 10-22-13 09:16 #
RjY is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



RjY said:
But please be reassured that blank lines between sections are fine, even needed.


Phew! I was a bit confused to see that prboom-plus did choke on something like
code:
[STRINGS] a = b [MUSIC] c = d

, whereas
code:
[STRINGS] a = b [MUSIC] c = d

, i.e. the introduction of a blank line between both stanzas worked. Good to know that this is the expected behaviour. :)

Old Post 10-22-13 09:49 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2711
Registered: 01-04



Patrol1985 said:
It doesn't.

Try again with the latest build.

Old Post 10-22-13 17:40 #
entryway is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Dragonsbrethren
Senior Member


Posts: 2398
Registered: 03-09


Just did a quick check, and the only issue I noticed is that the entering screen isn't shown when using MAP04's secret exit.

Old Post 10-22-13 21:53 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Patrol1985
Member


Posts: 539
Registered: 07-13


Works like a charm now! The entering screen Dragonsbrethren mentioned seems to appear, it's just the writing that's missing (but the background is accurate and there is a sound of shotgun loading, as it should be).

No Rest for the Living works assuming that doom2.wad was taken from the BFG edition, but that's the way it should be since nerve.wad was shipped together with the BFG edition right?

Great work on the update! Now I can use PrBoom+ with all official WADs :D

EDIT:

On a somewhat unrelated note: I'm a linux newbie and I'm still learning the basics of the system. I managed to install PRboom+ using instructions located in the "install" file, but I have two questions:

1. Can I use GLboom-plus under linux (the /usr/local/games directory only contains "prboom-plus" and "prboom-plus-game-server" programs)?

2. Since PRboom plus's files are scattered around different directories, is there an easy way to uninstall PRboom plus? I tried using Apt-get to do it, but it does not seem to recognize the program.

Last edited by Patrol1985 on 10-26-13 at 18:10

Old Post 10-24-13 08:31 #
Patrol1985 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Patrol1985
Member


Posts: 539
Registered: 07-13


Forgot to add - I'm using "Linux Mint 15" so I used instructions meant for Debian-based systems.

Old Post 10-26-13 17:16 #
Patrol1985 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
RjY
anARCHy


Posts: 943
Registered: 05-02



Patrol1985 said:
1. Can I use GLboom-plus under linux (the /usr/local/games directory only contains "prboom-plus" and "prboom-plus-game-server" programs)?
The distinction is only made on Windows for some long-forgotten historical reason. On other platforms PrBoom+ _is_ GLBoom+. Anyway you just set OpenGL from the menus (Options / General / Video mode / OpenGL, then you might have to quit pr+ and run it again), or put -vidmode gl on the command line if you just want the setting temporarily.


Patrol1985 said:
2. Since PRboom plus's files are scattered around different directories, is there an easy way to uninstall PRboom plus? I tried using Apt-get to do it, but it does not seem to recognize the program.
You'd have to _install_ it via apt-get to use apt-get to uninstall it :-) If you still have the source tree, cd into it and "make uninstall"

Old Post 10-27-13 08:24 #
RjY is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Patrol1985
Member


Posts: 539
Registered: 07-13



RjY said:
The distinction is only made on Windows for some long-forgotten historical reason. On other platforms PrBoom+ _is_ GLBoom+. Anyway you just set OpenGL from the menus (Options / General / Video mode / OpenGL, then you might have to quit pr+ and run it again), or put -vidmode gl on the command line if you just want the setting temporarily.


It worked, thanks!


RjY said:
You'd have to _install_ it via apt-get to use apt-get to uninstall it :-) If you still have the source tree, cd into it and "make uninstall"


I kept my source tree and tried "make uninstall", but it didn't work. Either there is no uninstall information in the source, or I did something wrong. I reinstalled the game using checkinstall, which allows me to uninstall the game easily.

Thanks for your help nonetheless!

Old Post 10-27-13 10:15 #
Patrol1985 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Graf Zahl
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 7697
Registered: 01-03



RjY said:
The distinction is only made on Windows for some long-forgotten historical reason.



That reason is most likely the lack of OpenGL on the original Windows 95. The OpenGL DLL only got added to a later update. Today it's pointless to make the distinction at all.

Old Post 10-27-13 10:49 #
Graf Zahl is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
TimeOfDeath
Forum Regular


Posts: 2634
Registered: 06-06


entryway: are you interested in letting prplus use map01-map99? Like an option to make map30 exit go to map33, then 34, then 35, etc?

Old Post 11-15-13 17:50 #
TimeOfDeath is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ribbiks
Senior Member


Posts: 1227
Registered: 02-11


yah thad be nice. if nothing else idclev33,34,35, would be a plus :)

Old Post 11-15-13 18:04 #
Ribbiks is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



TimeOfDeath said:
entryway: are you interested in letting prplus use map01-map99? Like an option to make map30 exit go to map33, then 34, then 35, etc?


Currently, idclevXX contains a sanity check that (XX <= 32). This is only weakened to (XX <= 33) if the current IWAD is doom2.wad from the BFG Edition, because this is the only official IWAD that actually contains a 33rd level [*]. It is, however, accessible from a secret exit in level 2, not 30, and returns to level 3.

Since prboom-plus is not going to support MAPINFO in the short term, these map progressions have to be hard-coded. And since there is no other IWAD that supports levels beyond map32, chances are low that this list will ever get extended.

[*] Actually, D2TWID does also contain a map33 which is accessible from a secret exit in map02 and returns to map03. So, currently, this level progression does only work as intended if D2TWID.wad is loaded as a PWAD to the doom2 IWAD from the BFG Edition.


Ribbiks said:
yah thad be nice. if nothing else idclev33,34,35, would be a plus :)


You can still use the "-warp XX" parameter. However, a patch to support levels beyond map32 in idclev is easily implemented based on the presence of the corresponding mapXX lump. *hint*

Old Post 11-17-13 15:45 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2711
Registered: 01-04



fabian said:
[*] Actually, D2TWID does also contain a map33 which is accessible from a secret exit in map02 and returns to map03. So, currently, this level progression does only work as intended if D2TWID.wad is loaded as a PWAD to the doom2 IWAD from the BFG Edition.

yes, but such non standard traveling will be available only if no demo recording or playback

Old Post 11-17-13 19:45 #
entryway is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



entryway said:

yes, but such non standard traveling will be available only if no demo recording or playback


that restriction is not yet implemented

Old Post 11-18-13 10:48 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1663
Registered: 08-13


I downloaded 2.5.1.4.test recently and it mostly works great, only problem I'm having is that I can't get Boom colourmaps on transfer properties linedefs to have any effect in GL mode. They seem to work in SW mode still. Tried playing with some config values but no luck, but maybe I didn't get the right one.

test file if needed: http://www.mediafire.com/download/w...eepwtr7.1.3.wad

Last edited by plums on 11-26-13 at 04:51

Old Post 11-26-13 04:44 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2711
Registered: 01-04



plums said:
I downloaded 2.5.1.4.test recently and it mostly works great, only problem I'm having is that I can't get Boom colourmaps on transfer properties linedefs to have any effect in GL mode. They seem to work in SW mode still. Tried playing with some config values but no luck, but maybe I didn't get the right one.

Do you have "enable external hi-res" switched on? By some unknown reasons, boom colormaps don't work for me if it's enabled. Since 2.5.1.0

Last edited by entryway on 11-26-13 at 17:33

Old Post 11-26-13 17:27 #
entryway is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1663
Registered: 08-13


Thanks! That fixed it. Not sure when I turned that on but it happened at some point obviously.

Old Post 11-26-13 17:36 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



plums said:
Thanks! That fixed it. Not sure when I turned that on but it happened at some point obviously.

I still don't understand why the colormap in the level you posted works with my configuration, but the fademap in the cellar of Freedoom's MAP01 does not...

Old Post 11-28-13 14:11 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1663
Registered: 08-13



fabian said:
I still don't understand why the colormap in the level you posted works with my configuration, but the fademap in the cellar of Freedoom's MAP01 does not...


The only difference I can think of offhand is that my example map uses WATERMAP which is a PrBoom-plus internal colormap, whereas the Freedoom map is provided by the Freedoom wad. But that's just a guess really.

Old Post 11-28-13 15:29 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



plums said:
The only difference I can think of offhand is that my example map uses WATERMAP which is a PrBoom-plus internal colormap, whereas the Freedoom map is provided by the Freedoom wad. But that's just a guess really.

But the map is found, it works in the software renderer but not in the opengl renderer.

Old Post 11-28-13 15:42 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Da Werecat
Senior Member


Posts: 1086
Registered: 11-09


Colormap effects are software renderer-specific tricks. Emulating them with hardware acceleration is not trivial. Recoloring and custom fog are completely different special effects for OpenGL. The former is being detected by the engine, the latter is not.

[edit]

I think that detecting custom fog should be relatively straightforward. Read colors from colormap 31, interpolate them, then use the resulting color for fog (and maybe even lighting) instead of black.

GZDoom also supports fullbright colors. They work like glowmaps, I suppose.

Last edited by Da Werecat on 11-28-13 at 19:20

Old Post 11-28-13 15:55 #
Da Werecat is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fraggle
Filled with the code of Doom


Posts: 7483
Registered: 07-00


Feature/change request for PrBoom+: when initializing IWADs at startup, please add prboom-plus.wad before the IWAD, not after. This allows the IWAD file (eg. Freedoom) to override some of the additional resources from prboom-plus.wad.

Old Post 12-01-13 03:47 #
fraggle is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 257
Registered: 12-12



Da Werecat said:
Colormap effects are software renderer-specific tricks. Emulating them with hardware acceleration is not trivial. Recoloring and custom fog are completely different special effects for OpenGL. The former is being detected by the engine, the latter is not.


Indeed, prboom-plus does neither support FOGMAP with the opengl renderer. :(

Old Post 12-02-13 12:51 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
FireFish
Member


Posts: 392
Registered: 04-13


code memo request for PrBoom+ :
clear notification where the prboom-plus.wad is loaded.

in standard prboom code this is as clear as daylight, but in prboom+ this seems to be rewritten and hard to find.

Old Post 12-04-13 20:41 #
FireFish is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
RjY
anARCHy


Posts: 943
Registered: 05-02



FireFish said:
code memo request for PrBoom+ :
clear notification where the prboom-plus.wad is loaded.


trunk r2977:
Currently prboom.wad is loaded by hacking the wad autoloading feature ({wad,deh}_file{1,2} in prboom.cfg) to have effectively a hidden third option wadfile_3 whose value is always prboom.wad.
Allow me the indulgence of quoting from my own commit message :-) The actual code starts at the end of M_LoadDefaults:
code:
/* proff 2001/7/1 - added prboom.wad as last entry so it's always loaded and doesn't overlap with the cfg settings */ //e6y: Check on existence of prboom.wad if (!(wad_files[MAXLOADFILES-1] = I_FindFile(PACKAGE_TARNAME ".wad", ""))) I_Error("PrBoom-Plus.wad not found. Can't continue.");
This is then picked up in d_main.c (search for MAXLOADFILES, around line 1600)

Old Post 12-05-13 13:17 #
RjY is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
FireFish
Member


Posts: 392
Registered: 04-13


thank you for the effort you made to explain this.

maybe 2 hours after posting, i figured it out by checking all of the 205 main source files.

Old Post 12-05-13 17:43 #
FireFish is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fraggle
Filled with the code of Doom


Posts: 7483
Registered: 07-00


PrBoom+ runs weird on retina display Macs. See here for a screenshot. That was with -width 800 -height 600 on the command line. Looks like it's running at 800x600 but the window is 1600x1200.

Old Post 12-14-13 19:50 #
fraggle is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (73): « First ... « 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 » ... Last »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > PrBoom-Plus, ver. 2.5.1.3

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.