Ouchface
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > Crispy Doom 1.5 "Supernova" (Update: 18 Aug 2014)
Pages (7): [1] 2 3 4 » ... Last »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 00:40. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12


Update 18 Aug 2014: Crispy Doom 1.5 "Supernova" has been released!

Crispy Doom is a fork of Chocolate Doom that provides a higher display resolution, raises the static limits of the Doom engine and offers further optional visual, technical and gameplay-affecting enhancements while remaining entirely config file, savegame, netplay and demo compatibile with the original.

This release contains the most extensive changes since Crispy Doom 1.1. Highlights of this release:

* Tons of compatibility fixes (removed limits, support for huge BLOCKMAPS, extended nodes, Medusa and Tutti Frutti fixes, etc.)
* Monster targets preserved in savegames.
* Automap improvements.
* Mouse look improvements.
* SPECHITS cheat code.
* etc.

Please visit the Crispy Doom homepage for more information:
http://fabiangreffrath.github.io/crispy-doom

The Crispy Doom source code is available at GitHub:
https://github.com/fabiangreffrath/crispy-doom

Binaries for Windows (x86) are available here:
http://www.greffrath.com/~fabian/crispy-doom_1.5.zip

Have a lot of fun!

- Fabian

Last edited by fabian on 08-18-14 at 09:20

Old Post 01-30-14 06:50 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1867
Registered: 08-13



fabian said:
Since a higher resolution means more visible VISPLANES etc., I am going to merge this branch to raise chocolate-doom's static limits in line with Doom-Plus:
https://github.com/fabiangreffrath/...master...limits


:D

I've been sort of thinking of this for a while, would be nice to have a bare-bones but still limit removing port that doesn't require Dosbox.

Currently, the patch only applies to the Doom engine and there are _no_ plans to extend it to chocolate-heretic, -hexen or -strife.

:C

Anything that could change your mind? These games could really benefit from a port such as this, because there's no "medium-featured" port like PrBoom+ is for Doom. Especially Hexen, it's really either oldschool vanilla/chocolate, or go whole hog with ZDoom or Doomsday.

Old Post 01-30-14 07:14 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
soner du
Green Marine


Posts: 49
Registered: 10-11


Excellent, it's THE port I've been expecting !
(OpenGL support would be even more perfect)

I've tried it for a few minutes, everything looks fine...

Now we have to find a name... Toffee Doom ?

Old Post 01-30-14 12:13 #
soner du is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
entryway
Forum Staple


Posts: 2714
Registered: 01-04



soner du said:
Now we have to find a name... Toffee Doom ?

prboom-

Old Post 01-30-14 12:16 #
entryway is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



soner du said:
Now we have to find a name... Toffee Doom ?


I might call it "crispy-doom" some day, because (1) 640x480 looks crispy and (2) "chocolate-crispies". :)

Old Post 01-30-14 12:21 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Holering
Member


Posts: 317
Registered: 01-03


Wonderful patch! Is 640X400 possible?

Would also be cool to allow 16-bit color (or even 24 to 32 bits). Similar to Jaguar port of Doom.

Old Post 01-30-14 16:05 #
Holering is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



Holering said:
Wonderful patch! Is 640X400 possible?

Yes, if you disable aspect ratio correction in chocolate-setup.



Would also be cool to allow 16-bit color (or even 24 to 32 bits). Similar to Jaguar port of Doom.

This is beyond the scope of this fork. It is meant to remain as much chocolate-doom as possible.

Old Post 01-30-14 16:36 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



plums said:
I've been sort of thinking of this for a while, would be nice to have a bare-bones but still limit removing port that doesn't require Dosbox.


Limit raising, that is. I am currently not going to implement dynamic limits, i.e. "limit removing". I am going to raise the limits mostly to compensate for the detail increase caused by the higher resolution. It is not supposed to run over-the-top maps anyway, but most of the "usual suspects" should work with this.


Anything that could change your mind? These games could really benefit from a port such as this, because there's no "medium-featured" port like PrBoom+ is for Doom. Especially Hexen, it's really either oldschool vanilla/chocolate, or go whole hog with ZDoom or Doomsday.

It's not set in stone. However, it is quite low on my priority list. Hacking the Doom renderer already took me much more time than expected and was a frustrating experience at times. And I expect e.g. Hexen to be much more complex than this by itself.

Old Post 01-30-14 16:41 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fraggle
Filled with the code of Doom


Posts: 7546
Registered: 07-00


Nice work! I've been hoping for a while now that someone would do a fork like this that can incorporate all the things that don't fit within Chocolate Doom's strictly-Vanilla remit. There's obviously a demand for a port like this.


fabian said:
I might call it "crispy-doom" some day, because (1) 640x480 looks crispy and (2) "chocolate-crispies". :)

Name it what you want, but my vote goes for anything that isn't a riff on "Chocolate Doom". I cringe whenever names get debated for Chocolate Doom forks and people start suggesting things like "Fudge Pieces with Chocolate Sprinkles Doom" or similarly ridiculous names :)

It's a shame that the Strawberry Doom name got wasted on a hacky port that ultimately didn't go anywhere, otherwise I'd suggest that. But maybe GhostlyDeath could give up the name.

Old Post 01-30-14 17:43 #
fraggle is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Dragonsbrethren
Senior Member


Posts: 2409
Registered: 03-09


Very cool. I definitely second what plums said, though. This is arguably more "needed" for Heretic, Hexen, and Strife than it is for Doom, so I hope you do consider porting the changes to those once you have Doom done the way you want it.

Old Post 01-30-14 22:04 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
beloko
Warming Up


Posts: 27
Registered: 07-13


Awesome work! When you say more visible VISPLANES, does this mean it may crash without increase in rate limit? Or should all normal doom levels work OK?
Cheers, Emile.

Old Post 02-02-14 16:22 #
beloko is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Jayextee
Darth Jrrr


Posts: 1250
Registered: 10-00


Raspberry ripple Doom. Tasty.

(Also, yes. I approve heartily of this)

Old Post 02-02-14 16:28 #
Jayextee is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
schwerpunk
Senior Member


Posts: 2048
Registered: 05-12


Anyway, very exciting. As for a name: how about White Chocolate Doom, because of the high gamma in the OP screenshot. :P

Old Post 02-02-14 16:48 #
schwerpunk is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Graf Zahl
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 7722
Registered: 01-03



beloko said:
Awesome work! When you say more visible VISPLANES, does this mean it may crash without increase in rate limit? Or should all normal doom levels work OK?
Cheers, Emile.




Higher resolution means that the same view may generate more visplanes, so for a resolution increase it's also necessary to change the visplane limit.

Old Post 02-02-14 21:58 #
Graf Zahl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
beloko
Warming Up


Posts: 27
Registered: 07-13


So I added Chocolate Doom with this hires mod to Doom Touch (Android), seems to be working!

When I get a chance I will see if your changes can be ported to the other games, do you think there will be major differences in implementation?

Old Post 02-04-14 09:55 #
beloko is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



beloko said:
So I added Chocolate Doom with this hires mod to Doom Touch (Android), seems to be working!


Great!


When I get a chance I will see if your changes can be ported to the other games, do you think there will be major differences in implementation?


I don't think so. I have Heretic mostly working, just some minor graphical glitches are left that require different fixes than Doom.

Old Post 02-04-14 10:18 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Krispy
Senior Member


Posts: 1184
Registered: 02-12



fabian said:
I might call it "crispy-doom"

Just as long as you pay me royalties :)

Old Post 02-04-14 12:27 #
Krispy is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
NightFright
Junior Member


Posts: 219
Registered: 08-10


Caramel Doom. Or Anti-Blur Doom possibly. :P

Other than that, many people have always demanded something like this to be done, so it's a relief to see that someone finally had the guts to make it happen. ^^

Last edited by NightFright on 02-04-14 at 14:23

Old Post 02-04-14 14:16 #
NightFright is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



Krispy said:

Just as long as you pay me royalties :)


Dammit! I am tempted to call it oculist-doom. :)

BTW, I'd consider hires-heretic ready, but it needs more testing. No binaries yet, sorry. This was more bitchy than Doom; it was tricky to get the sky scaling and the moving background in the automap right, mostly because the code uses a lot of memcpy() between frame buffers and I have just blown the destination buffer up by factor 4.

Old Post 02-06-14 11:02 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11072
Registered: 07-07


"Embiggened Doom" seems like the most accurate name possible.

(Or "Magnified Doom" if you don't like The Simpsons.)

Old Post 02-06-14 11:35 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Shadow Hog
Forum Regular


Posts: 719
Registered: 07-09



Gez said:
"Embiggened Doom" seems like the most accurate name possible.
Sounds like a perfectly cromulent choice.

Old Post 02-06-14 18:49 #
Shadow Hog is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
durian
Member


Posts: 437
Registered: 08-08


I would suggest: DOOM♯ (DOOMsharp)

Old Post 02-06-14 18:58 #
durian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



Shadow Hog said:
Sounds like a perfectly cromulent choice.

Cromulent-Doom sounds great! o_O

But, more importantly, Hexen's sky is a bitch... (Yes, I am currently working on my further plans in ascending order of priority). :)

Old Post 02-06-14 19:10 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1867
Registered: 08-13


Awesome! I'm glad to hear that we talked you into working on the other games. I will wait patiently.

Old Post 02-07-14 06:19 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



plums said:
Awesome! I'm glad to hear that we talked you into working on the other games. I will wait patiently.

Alright, I got Heretic, Hexen and Strife working. Unfortunately, I managed to mess up my GIT repository a bit (I am new to all this merge and rebase stuff). I think I'll set up a new clean repository next week and then provide binaries for testing.

BTW, Gez's embiggened-doom name suggestion is probably going to make the race. :)

Old Post 02-07-14 22:08 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12


It's done! I have high-resolution and limit-raising patches for all four games ready. Please find binaries for download here:


[Edit] Please see here for updated packages:
http://www.doomworld.com/vb/post/1245295


Please test extensively and report any bugs, glitches or crashes that may occur. Especially Heretic, Hexen and Strife have not been tested that much, i.e. I never made it very far into the games.

Until I have sorted out the mess in my github repository, the caconical source for the patches is the Debian packaging repo:

http://anonscm.debian.org/gitweb/?p...efs/heads/hires

Last edited by fabian on 02-26-14 at 15:42

Old Post 02-13-14 05:36 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1867
Registered: 08-13


Awesome, thanks again for extending it to the other games. I'll given them a test within the next day.

edit: Looks like this bug is still present here.

Minor bug: In Hexen, the blue and green mana bars on the status bar are always full:
http://i.imgur.com/xTDNn3v.png

Compare to normal Hexen:
http://i.imgur.com/N7nrw3Q.png


Also, my screenshot came out at 640x400 for some reason?

Last edited by plums on 02-13-14 at 06:54

Old Post 02-13-14 06:02 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1867
Registered: 08-13


OK, so things are a bit weird in fullscreen. I'm using the Windows version, with an old monitor that only goes up to 1024x768. I dropped the chocolate-*-setup.exe files from normal chocolate doom into the new directory with these exes. All of this applies to all games.

When "Fix aspect ratio" is on, and "Full screen" is also on, the display is too tall for my monitor, and the bottom or top gets cut off. Here is a screenshot I took, and here is how it actually looks on my monitor. It doesn't matter what resolution I select as long as it's < 1280x960, this is how it always looks and the monitor always reports that it's running at 1024x768.

If I turn "Fix aspect ratio" off, the monitor resolution gets set at whatever I choose, but the actual game is displayed at 640x400. It makes sense that I can't get a larger window since the next multiple of 640 is higher than my monitor resolution, but I would have expected it to use 640x480 instead.

In windowed mode, everything looks fine and as works I would expect.

Normal chocolate doom runs and looks fine at 640x480.

Lastly the setup program seems to try to default to either 1280x768 or 1280x800 a lot of the time, for whatever reason.

I'd be fine with just being able to run at 640x480 fullscreen, but it doesn't seem possible right now.

Last edited by plums on 02-13-14 at 11:18

Old Post 02-13-14 11:12 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fabian
Member


Posts: 282
Registered: 12-12



plums said:
Looks like this bug is still present here.


Yes, the patches are based on chocolate-doom-2.0.0 and were not rebased on the master branch, yet.


Minor bug: In Hexen, the blue and green mana bars on the status bar are always full:


I'll have a look at it tomorrow, thanks!


Also, my screenshot came out at 640x400 for some reason?


Yes, the game content is always rendered at 640x400 and then stretched to (multiples of) 640x480 in a post-processing step if aspect ration correction is enabled.

Old Post 02-13-14 14:06 #
fabian is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
plums
Senior Member


Posts: 1867
Registered: 08-13



fabian said:
Yes, the game content is always rendered at 640x400 and then stretched to (multiples of) 640x480 in a post-processing step if aspect ration correction is enabled.


Ah, that makes sense.

Another bug: pressing pause will crash Doom/Doom 2 with the message "Bad V_DrawPatch". Pausing in Strife works but doesn't display the PAUSE graphic. Pausing in Heretic/Hexen seems to work without problems.

Old Post 02-13-14 23:03 #
plums is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 00:40. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (7): [1] 2 3 4 » ... Last »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > Crispy Doom 1.5 "Supernova" (Update: 18 Aug 2014)

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.