Archvile
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom Editing > New Doom level editor
 
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 00:53. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
999cop
Constrained Owing to Lot


Posts: 3180
Registered: 12-00


http://www.hut.fi/~jpakkane/why/

__________________
.dronF

Old Post 03-24-02 01:29 #
999cop is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
mmnpsrsoskl
Spasmolytic


Posts: 1787
Registered: 06-01


I thought this has been out for a while...anyways it's Linux so I can't use it.

__________________
You know, I never really updated this thing right here, so I thought i'd better put something in here, such as this annoying and stupid sentence. Yeehaw.

Old Post 03-24-02 09:36 #
mmnpsrsoskl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Big_al
Junior Member


Posts: 125
Registered: 10-01


I plan to install SuSe Linux 7.3 sometime soon, I'll give it a go then

__________________
http://www.doomheaven.co.uk, were kippers get smoked.

Old Post 03-24-02 14:06 #
Big_al is offline Profile || Blog || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Liam
the Bard formerly known as the Bard


Posts: 4018
Registered: 08-00


He's working on a windows version, it's just coming along slow.

Old Post 03-24-02 18:36 #
Liam is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


whoTH needs another editor

Old Post 03-24-02 22:29 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
mmnpsrsoskl
Spasmolytic


Posts: 1787
Registered: 06-01



Originally posted by Liam the Bard
He's working on a windows version, it's just coming along slow.

I will definetely check it out then...

__________________
You know, I never really updated this thing right here, so I thought i'd better put something in here, such as this annoying and stupid sentence. Yeehaw.

Old Post 03-25-02 10:34 #
mmnpsrsoskl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
boris
meow


Posts: 3630
Registered: 05-00



Originally posted by Hirogen2
whoTH needs another editor


The Doom community.

Old Post 03-25-02 15:43 #
boris is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


We get a thousands of editors - and some weeks later they are outdated
(Wintex, XWE, DETH, and thy) and deepsea is shit to handle.

Old Post 03-25-02 17:21 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
pritch
Super Moderator


Posts: 6135
Registered: 11-01


DeePsea is ok to handle once you get used to it. At first I didn't like the way you moved things and linedefs around, but I got used to it, plus a new mouse helped :)

__________________
I'm the magic man. I got magic hands.

Old Post 03-26-02 00:28 #
pritch is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
rtz
Mini-Member


Posts: 60
Registered: 03-02


Why might be released tonight!

Old Post 03-26-02 01:56 #
rtz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


I can skip that.

Deepsea has unfortunately no option for (WIN)DEU/DETH's mouse behavior -
meaning you click to make a vertex, and then already drag a linedef in one
row. And after clicking for the end vertex, you already start with a new
linedef. I cannot live that way :] I love the DEU way - vertex and linedef
layers.

Old Post 03-26-02 08:38 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


Well, WTH would happen if I release a level editor now (it is for any OS, you
just need Perl, which you can get for any OS), eh?
I have shitloads of Doom tools, courtesy of mine, which I just need to merge.

Old Post 03-26-02 08:40 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
rtz
Mini-Member


Posts: 60
Registered: 03-02


That would be great! Please do.

Old Post 03-26-02 10:34 #
rtz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02



That would be great! Please do.

Eh, and what if those tools do not exist?
Well, they do exist <-- not lied

Currently I am doing some sort of programming language, (you may know WADC)
that is similar, but way better, since DLPL (current name) is done in pure
language; it is not an own lang like WADC, thus enabling all the lovely
features. When I am finished with my current non-doom project, I will head
over mainly to DLPL and finish that.
On top of DLPL there may be something like Wintex (in da mixx with "nc").
But that will take some more time until I finish all the stuff.

If the programmers of source ports would "enhance" their ports in a specific
way (I would like to see such stuff in ZDoom, heh) - programming would be
more easy, but that is all a task for later time.

Old Post 03-26-02 12:07 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Biffy
Forum Regular


Posts: 894
Registered: 02-01


Hey, I'm not very skilled with DeePsea but I think there might be a misunderstanding. When you are in line drawing mode and want to end a sector, you don't even have to manually draw the last "sector closing" line, DeePsea does it for you if you simply right click. Or, you can complete the last line but again exit with a right click, not left click and your sector is done without any new line "hanging" to the mouse cursor. If you use the ESC key to terminate the operation, DeePsea will not close the sector and will offer a further menu.

Old Post 03-26-02 15:43 #
Biffy is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
mmnpsrsoskl
Spasmolytic


Posts: 1787
Registered: 06-01


Yeah now that Why can run under Windows, I tried to download it. But I got an error...does anyone else have it and could you send it to me...or post a link to it?

__________________
You know, I never really updated this thing right here, so I thought i'd better put something in here, such as this annoying and stupid sentence. Yeehaw.

Old Post 03-27-02 05:49 #
mmnpsrsoskl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
rtz
Mini-Member


Posts: 60
Registered: 03-02


I downloaded it just fine. Try the link again.

Old Post 03-27-02 06:37 #
rtz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
mmnpsrsoskl
Spasmolytic


Posts: 1787
Registered: 06-01


I did...it didn't work.

I'll try it again...

__________________
You know, I never really updated this thing right here, so I thought i'd better put something in here, such as this annoying and stupid sentence. Yeehaw.

Old Post 03-27-02 11:36 #
mmnpsrsoskl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


Plus: 95% of all Doom editors are Windows-based.

Old Post 03-27-02 12:59 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
mmnpsrsoskl
Spasmolytic


Posts: 1787
Registered: 06-01


Still didn't work.

Meh.

__________________
You know, I never really updated this thing right here, so I thought i'd better put something in here, such as this annoying and stupid sentence. Yeehaw.

Old Post 03-27-02 13:17 #
mmnpsrsoskl is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
NiGHTMARE
Forum Legend


Posts: 5012
Registered: 05-00


Hirogen:

I grew up with DEU (I started with v2.0 only a few days after it was released), but I much prefer the Deep way of doing things now.

After all, creating all the vertexes, and then all the linedefs, rather than creating them both at the same time, is rather a time-wasting way of doing things, don't you think?

Old Post 03-28-02 01:31 #
NiGHTMARE is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Erik
Senior Member


Posts: 2097
Registered: 10-01


Heh I use the add linedef command (Ins) in Deu/DETH. I use it maybe once or twice in a level if some special circumstances arise.

Old Post 03-28-02 08:15 #
Erik is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02


I just stuck to WINDEU after I had searched cdrom those days and only found
doomcad and wauthor which were real crap in my eyes.
However, I used the windeu v5.99b1 with all its lovely bugs!
If you know how to bypass them, life is ok.
And the only dumb point was, when you had selected a big amount of
vertices / lindefs and your click got wrong...
anyway I want to stick to WAD programming.

Old Post 03-28-02 08:30 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
læmænt
BAND


Posts: 3801
Registered: 11-00



Originally posted by Hirogen2
whoTH needs another editor
I do. AFAIK there's only one editor for linux, and it's fairly crappy.

__________________
signature edited for sake of insanity

Old Post 03-28-02 09:05 #
læmænt is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Hirogen2
Member


Posts: 503
Registered: 01-02




AFAIK there is only one editor for linux


Yeah, the one from Andr'e Majorel



and it is fairly crappy.


You think W.H.Y. will be better???

Old Post 03-28-02 10:54 #
Hirogen2 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 00:53. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Doom Editing > New Doom level editor

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.