Archvile
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Misc. > Doomworld News > Eureka, a Doom Editor
 
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:04. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Bloodshedder
Spellchecker


Posts: 5488
Registered: 03-02


Andrew Apted has made the first public release of his map editor Eureka. This is a Linux-targeted editor originally forked from Yadex, but significantly rewritten since then. Compilation is required, as it is released in source code form only right now. Still being a beta release, I'm sure Andrew would be appreciative of any suggestions for improvement.

Old Post 11-16-12 04:04 #
Bloodshedder is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
hardcore_gamer
Fáviti Member


Posts: 2364
Registered: 03-07


I won't use this since I don't use Linux, but its still nice to see Doom editing spread to other platforms.

Old Post 11-16-12 07:14 #
hardcore_gamer is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Ralphis
IDL Founder


Posts: 3732
Registered: 09-02


Unfortunately don't use linux, but Andrew is the man anyway

Old Post 11-16-12 10:54 #
Ralphis is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Bastet Furry
THE WERELION


Posts: 908
Registered: 09-02


\o/
Place that man a statue! Finaly a decend map editor for modern Linux!

I can savely asume that the 3d preview is the real deal, ie, the real Doom engine for previewing? o.o

EDIT:
I found a little annoyance in Gnome3 (FB-Mode), if you fullscreen the editor the dropdown menu in the bottom bar where you select the mode gets drawn behind the taskbar.

Old Post 11-21-12 11:43 #
Bastet Furry is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
fraggle
Filled with the code of Doom


Posts: 7611
Registered: 07-00


Nice work! I was trying to get Yadex working the other day and bemoaning the fact that it doesn't even compile cleanly on modern systems. This looks like a significant improvement, and it's great to see a Unix/Linux level editor under development.

Old Post 11-21-12 11:59 #
fraggle is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
exp(x)


Posts: 2595
Registered: 04-04


Nice.

Old Post 11-21-12 14:30 #
exp(x) is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Springy
Senior Member


Posts: 1351
Registered: 09-12


Excellent news, I have a version of Linux on my desktop so will definitely give this a try when I get it fixed. Great to see that Linux users now have an editor.

Old Post 11-21-12 19:58 #
Springy is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
printz
CRAZY DUMB ZEALOT


Posts: 8850
Registered: 06-06


Yeah, this is cool news, I'm currently working on supplying a user-friendly Mac app package for this. Finally a Mac editor :D

__________________
Automatic Wolfenstein - Version 1.0 - also on Android

Old Post 11-21-12 21:48 #
printz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 11115
Registered: 07-07



printz said:
Yeah, this is cool news, I'm currently working on supplying a user-friendly Mac app package for this. Finally a Mac editor :D


Doesn't SLADE 3 compile on Mac?

Admittedly there are so many dependencies (OpenGL, wxWidgets, SFML, FluidSynth...) it might be annoying.

Old Post 11-21-12 22:38 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
printz
CRAZY DUMB ZEALOT


Posts: 8850
Registered: 06-06



Gez said:


Doesn't SLADE 3 compile on Mac?

Admittedly there are so many dependencies (OpenGL, wxWidgets, SFML, FluidSynth...) it might be annoying.

Yeah, it had failed after I waited several hours to download and install things. Either I chose 64 bit at one moment and it turned out to be incompatible with the other libraries (?) or I didn't actually install all Xcode command-line tools as described here and thought I did.

__________________
Automatic Wolfenstein - Version 1.0 - also on Android

Old Post 11-21-12 23:16 #
printz is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1637
Registered: 04-02


Cheers folks!


Bastet Furry said:
I can savely asume that the 3d preview is the real deal, ie, the real Doom engine for previewing?

No it's not the actual DOOM code (which requires a BSP tree to function), and some things don't work quite the same way (e.g. the sky, midmasked textures, non-rotated sprites). But the lighting is the same, it uses the same distance formula and the same COLORMAP table.

The Gnome3 menu thing would indeed be a tad annoying -- probably beyond my control though, it'd be an issue with FLTK interaction with the Gnome3 window manager. Does it happen when the window is normal sized (moved to bottom of the desktop) ?

Old Post 11-22-12 04:27 #
andrewj is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
hex11
Senior Member


Posts: 2237
Registered: 09-09


Bastet Furry wants to be the first kid on his block to play maps in the editor. ;-)

Old Post 11-22-12 04:52 #
hex11 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Bastet Furry
THE WERELION


Posts: 908
Registered: 09-02



andrewj said:
No it's not the actual DOOM code (which requires a BSP tree to function), and some things don't work quite the same way (e.g. the sky, midmasked textures, non-rotated sprites). But the lighting is the same, it uses the same distance formula and the same COLORMAP table.


Close enough for being usefull and a great achivement. Now all it needs is some sort of texture selector and alginer, the rest can wait. :)


andrewj said:
The Gnome3 menu thing would indeed be a tad annoying -- probably beyond my control though, it'd be an issue with FLTK interaction with the Gnome3 window manager. Does it happen when the window is normal sized (moved to bottom of the desktop) ?


See here:
http://i.imgur.com/064f6.png
I can still use the shortcuts, so its not a big problem.

Will try to make a nice map with it next week or so, currently i have enough work for two of me. :/


hex11 said:
Bastet Furry wants to be the first kid on his block to play maps in the editor. ;-)

You know you want that too. And geometry edit, not only sector height but line placement too, right inside the 3D view.
But i think THAT feature would take awhile to develop and i am not 100% sure if it would be so great to use. Even Autodesk decided that you first make a 2D model and then tell Inventor the height for 3D.

Old Post 11-23-12 13:17 #
Bastet Furry is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:04. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Misc. > Doomworld News > Eureka, a Doom Editor

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is OFF
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.