Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Stroggos

Voxel Doom Port!

Recently I've been working on a test game fro Ken Silverman's Voxlap engine. As a programmer myself I am fascinated by the idea of voxels in games especially classic ones like DOOM. The reason for this is mainly because I love the game BLOOD with a passion and voxels gave it a certain edge. Maybe and edge that DOOM could use?

For about a week I have been contemplating what to do for my next project. I have thought about every aspect of it from file naming conventions to what port I'm gong to base it on.

For many reasons I cannot use a port that utilises OpenGL AT ALL if you know voxels you'll know why. So out of the many ports available I have really broken it down to two... ZDoom and Chocolate-Doom.

ZDoom here is probably the most obvious as it has all of the features but Chocolate-Doom has a certain charm to it I think. So in actual fact I have chosen Chocolate-Doom but right now I feel it's down to a community vote. I think I would require a team of programmers to get this thing of the ground and also a whole bunch of community members to feel like it's a good enough idea right now. Doom64 Ex for me at the moment is not a direction I want to be heading. I want to do something new and exciting and Voxel supported DOOM port seems the way to go!

So if you are interested in my idea, not really a completely new one but it hasn't been done just yet, don't just think yeah it's a good idea please post and express what you think.

Neat!

I don't think Chocolate-Doom would probably be the best way to go. Adding new features like voxel support doesn't really fit within Chocodoom's mission, and so they'd be highly unlikely to be merged into the main Chocodoom source, remaining as an obscure branch of it.