Doom Marine
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > Doom64EX 2.3 Feedback Thread
Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »  
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00


NOTE: This build is a work-in-progress and will be updated periodically. This is NOT an official release but rather consider this an 'alpha' test build. I want to be absolutely sure that there won't be any major bugs present before I make this release official.

The release of version 2.2 was pretty embarrassing and version 2.3 will be resolving just about all of those bugs and other issues that was present in 2.2.

Changes:

    * Complete overhaul of the zone memory allocator. This replaces the old zone heap system that Doom used
    * Memory corruption fix due to some things being given the MF_NOBLOCKMAP flag
    * Fixes to sky due to front face culling
    * Sprites are properly culled and disable culling for laser sprites
    * Fixed pixel pack-alignment when taking screenshots or saving savegame thumbnails while in a widescreen resolution
    * Different logic when setting music and sound volumes
    * Out Gain cvar added for tweaking the overall gain output in Fluidsynth
    * Support for 65534 sidedefs and segs
    * Fixed buggy cameras in co-op mode
    * Fixes to Regional menu. Now displays 'Unavailable' if user doesn't have a localized version of the game
    * R_GLRegisterProc no longer errors out when failing to find a OpenGL extension address.
    * Fixed issue where it was failing to validate non-US versions of the IWAD
    * Include Microsoft Visual Studio runtime library (MSVCR71.DLL)
    * Wadgen will check for existing files and remove them before generating new ones
    * Fix in Wadgen for converting MIDI data. Some bytes of data were lost during conversion resulting in incomplete tracks


Download Link Last Updated: 03/18/12: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18609/Kex_Engine.zip

Because that there was a fix in converting the MIDI data, I suggest you re-run wadgen to create a fresh new IWAD and Soundfont file.

Please report any bugs or feedback relating to this test build here. Happy bug hunting!

Old Post 03-19-12 17:18 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 258
Registered: 08-04


Sorry, haven't gotten to try the last couple versions yet, and this may not be the best thread to post this question in. But, has the recent versions added general windows gamepad support like for logitech dual action gamepads? I thought I remembered that there was xbox gamepad support, but that's it.

Zdoom supports universal gamepads very well. Especially how you can map both analog sticks as well as the d-pad.

Old Post 03-20-12 06:22 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
MP2E
Junior Member


Posts: 157
Registered: 09-07


If the latest svn checkout of the 2.2 branch in your svn repository is 2.3(I think it is as it was the most recently committed to according to websvn) it runs absolutely perfectly in Arch Linux x64. Do note that CMakeLists.txt needs some changes because libdl and libm aren't being included automatically. I had to modify CMakeFiles/doom64ex.dir/link.txt to include -ldl -lm at the end to get it to link properly.

Other than that though, runs fantastically :) Great work

Old Post 03-20-12 11:01 #
MP2E is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00


Yeah, I didn't plan that one through. I should of branched way after I did the first initial release of 2.2. I'll be branching later this week though.

Also can you provide me that updated CMakeList file?

Old Post 03-20-12 16:42 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00



Brewtal_Legend said:
has the recent versions added general windows gamepad support like for logitech dual action gamepads?


D64EX still supports the xbox 360 controller. I would implement support for generic PC gamepads but I've found that there's a conflict with the direct input driver and XInput, making it difficult to support both.

Old Post 03-20-12 16:46 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
_bruce_
Senior Member


Posts: 1281
Registered: 11-07


Very nice - this works on my MX440!

If you're in game and press F2 to save
-the options menu fades in, fades out anf then comes the save slot screen.

Great work overall!

Old Post 03-22-12 21:29 #
_bruce_ is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Mike.Reiner
Senior Member


Posts: 1165
Registered: 01-05


So.. I downloaded it, noticed the DOOMSND.SF2 file, and could not help myself from throwing it into PrBoom-Plus and playing some other wads with that sound font. Shit sounds creepy as fuck listening 'Doom64ified' versions of songs I know already.

I'll get around to actually playing Doom 64 EX a bit later though, haha.

Old Post 03-23-12 04:53 #
Mike.Reiner is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00



_bruce_ said:


If you're in game and press F2 to save
-the options menu fades in, fades out anf then comes the save slot screen.



Cool, I'll have that addressed shortly.

Old Post 03-23-12 16:35 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
MP2E
Junior Member


Posts: 157
Registered: 09-07


Sorry for the wait, I have patch for CMakeLists.txt to fix the linking issue:

http://pastebin.com/fhTFMVE4

Old Post 03-26-12 09:51 #
MP2E is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00



MP2E said:
Sorry for the wait, I have patch for CMakeLists.txt to fix the linking issue:

http://pastebin.com/fhTFMVE4



Awesome, I'll patch it once I get the chance.

Old Post 03-26-12 16:41 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
MP2E
Junior Member


Posts: 157
Registered: 09-07


Whoops I'm new to cmake syntax and it seems I made a mistake in the patch, change ELSEIF(UNIX) to ELSE.

Should work as intended now.

Old Post 03-28-12 02:21 #
MP2E is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 258
Registered: 08-04


I managed to find this

http://code.google.com/p/x360ce/

Which lets me use my logitech dual action gamepad to play.

I noticed that in classic control mode, the turning on the right stick is very slow if the threshold is set to anything but completely to the left.

Don't know if it's intentional, but I thought I'd mention it.

Also, is there any chance of adding gamepad config? Instead of only being able to choose between classic or modern control scheme. I like to use left stick for forward/back and strafing, use the right stick for turning, and the d-pad for looking up and down with another button configured to center the view. It would be nice to configure the controller to do this.

Old Post 04-06-12 00:27 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 258
Registered: 08-04


I was running doom64ex using the Doom Runner front end ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/doomrunner/ )and noticed I can't get any sound. I could have sworn that the sound worked fine the first time I tried it, but not now. I even made the program load the doomsnd.sf2 but still no sound.

Also, there is no sound when punching a wall.

Think there might be a way to add blood splatter on the walls when killing enemies like in PC Doom? I know it wasn't that way in Doom 64, but it would be a nice extra option.

Last edited by Brewtal_Legend on 04-09-12 at 09:30

Old Post 04-09-12 09:13 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 10993
Registered: 07-07



Brewtal_Legend said:
Think there might be a way to add blood splatter on the walls when killing enemies like in PC Doom? I know it wasn't that way in Doom 64, but it would be a nice extra option.


It's not "like in PC Doom". Decals were introduced by Doom Legacy, and then ZDoom.

Old Post 04-09-12 11:09 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Brewtal_Legend
Member


Posts: 258
Registered: 08-04



Gez said:


It's not "like in PC Doom". Decals were introduced by Doom Legacy, and then ZDoom.



I guess it's just been so long since I played vanilla Doom without gzdoom that I forgot and assumed the decals were always there. It would still be a nice optional feature for d64ex though I think. The dark grittier atmosphere is just begging to have blood splattered on the walls. :P

Old Post 04-09-12 18:45 #
Brewtal_Legend is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Dragonsbrethren
Senior Member


Posts: 2398
Registered: 03-09


ZDoom's decals are horrid looking (and not in a good way).

Old Post 04-09-12 19:35 #
Dragonsbrethren is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00



Brewtal_Legend said:


I guess it's just been so long since I played vanilla Doom without gzdoom that I forgot and assumed the decals were always there. It would still be a nice optional feature for d64ex though I think. The dark grittier atmosphere is just begging to have blood splattered on the walls. :P



I can put that on my to-do list but the whole point of version 2.3 is to eliminate all bugs that was responsible for the disastrous 2.2 release. After that, then D64EX is open for new feature requests and what not.

Old Post 04-09-12 19:48 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
WildWeasel
Resident Castlevania Super-Fanboy


Posts: 2767
Registered: 07-03


Random suggestion, is it possible to have an option for "Use Context" that shows the little Use key popup without highlighting the wall texture? Because it is apparently getting sent over network in co-op mode (I think?).

Old Post 04-09-12 23:38 #
WildWeasel is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00


Yikes. I'll have to make that local to the client then...

Old Post 04-10-12 01:37 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
_bruce_
Senior Member


Posts: 1281
Registered: 11-07


-The load snapshot gets distorted and is black and white.
http://i.imgur.com/toIn1.png


-In the 'options/video' menu the 'Anisotropy' setting shows '00D' when I start the .exe and is corrected to on/off when changed via keys.


-are you considering the dirty solution of incorporating a hack to make deathmatch possible/abusing the standard spots for it?
Obvious solution would be deathmatch spots in the map files - so maybe a patchfile per original map distributed with the release for a cleaner solution?

Last edited by _bruce_ on 10-11-12 at 14:56

Old Post 10-11-12 14:44 #
_bruce_ is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00


Is this with the very latest version?

Also I am not sure about deathmatch support. I think I took out some deathmatch components when I was struggling to get co-op support to work. But since I am lacking free time, maybe someone could help add support for this (either by code or by map patches).

I think Quake 2 had to do something similar where it manually added co-op starts via code to maps that lacked them.

Old Post 10-12-12 16:55 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Convex
Newbie


Posts: 4
Registered: 03-11



Kaiser said:
Is this with the very latest version?

Also I am not sure about deathmatch support. I think I took out some deathmatch components when I was struggling to get co-op support to work. But since I am lacking free time, maybe someone could help add support for this (either by code or by map patches).

I think Quake 2 had to do something similar where it manually added co-op starts via code to maps that lacked them.



Hi Kaiser, any chance you could release the DS port you were talking about a while ago please? Am going to be spending a lot of time on the train soon... :)

Old Post 10-12-12 22:48 #
Convex is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 10993
Registered: 07-07



_bruce_ said:
-The load snapshot gets distorted and is black and white.
http://i.imgur.com/toIn1.png


That one is easy to solve. I had to fix that in the screenshot code in GZDoom some times ago. You need to call
code:
glPixelStorei(GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT, 1);

before taking the snapshot, and then once it is taken call
code:
glPixelStorei(GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT, 4);

to return to normal for performances purposes.

The problem happens when image widths aren't a multiple of four. Here the resolution for the snapshot appears to be 341x256.

Since the image data isn't aligned on four bytes, when you read the renderbuffer's pixels to store them in a picture, you get out of alignment visually. So you have to tell it to use a 1-byte alignment. But it is apparently costly for performances, so you want to return to the default of 4-byte alignment once you've finished reading the pixels.

Old Post 10-13-12 10:44 #
Gez is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
_bruce_
Senior Member


Posts: 1281
Registered: 11-07


@Kaiser - you're correct.
The save/load picture issue was incorrectly reported by me because it was an old savegame... maybe there's something odd in the stimpaks I've been using lately. ^^
The Quake2 map hack was the first thing that crossed my mind when writing the post... funny mind jump.
Tried downloading the DoomEx source via SVN but it doesn't work and the tar-ball never finishes.
I can't guarantee to be of any help but if I'm able to provide something useful I'll see to it.
On a different note - on what is the movement code in DoomEX based? I've played a few maps over the last days and movement seems so "against" the player unlike in the original Doom.
Other than that DoomEX is the bomb - I had a blast, yet again, revisiting the levels of Nintendo's purgatory.


@Gez - those pesky packing... reminds me of my first bmp loader where I was totally overloaded by every line width having to be evenly dividable by 4.

Old Post 10-13-12 13:01 #
_bruce_ is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00



Convex said:


Hi Kaiser, any chance you could release the DS port you were talking about a while ago please? Am going to be spending a lot of time on the train soon... :)



I am hoping to. Still lacking a lot of things (such as new graphics for the lower screen) but other than the menu, I think its close to release.

Just haven't been working on it because of work and uh... TurokEX...



_bruce_ said:

On a different note - on what is the movement code in DoomEX based? I've played a few maps over the last days and movement seems so "against" the player unlike in the original Doom.



Friction has been slightly changed and the sliding code was slightly tweaked to prevent the wall running bug that boosts the player's momentum. Both of these were based off of the disassembly I've gathered from the original game.

Old Post 10-16-12 18:02 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
DoomUK
Forum Staple


Posts: 3841
Registered: 04-04


I know I'm a little behind the times, but I just grabbed v2.3 because I felt inclined to play some Doom64.

When was the video option for 1280x1024 screens dropped, and why? Surely I can't be the only person still in 5:4 land. Trying to force it in the config file doesn't have any effect. Is there some glaringly obvious way of fixing this that I'm missing?

Old Post 11-21-12 14:22 #
DoomUK is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Kaiser
Doom64 Guru


Posts: 2854
Registered: 08-00


Its an oversight on my part because I never knew 5:4 even existed. I am only checking for resolutions with the 4:3, 16:10 and 16:9 ratios. So basically I need to add support for that aspect ratio....

Old Post 11-21-12 19:53 #
Kaiser is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Blzut3
Member


Posts: 495
Registered: 06-04


There's also another ratio common on netbooks: 1024x600. Using nice numbers ZDoom/ECWolf approximates this to 17:10, but you could use a more exact ratio if you want. Toshiba also released a laptop with a 21:9 screen @ 1792x768.

Old Post 11-21-12 20:16 #
Blzut3 is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Eris Falling
Forum Staple


Posts: 2917
Registered: 07-12


This might be helpful...

Old Post 11-21-12 20:30 #
Eris Falling is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Enjay
ASK ME ABOUT FOOTBALL / STEAM / DEAD CELEBRITIES / THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT


Posts: 6381
Registered: 12-00


Isn't standardisation a wonderful thing. :/

Old Post 11-23-12 20:37 #
Enjay is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »  
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > Doom64EX 2.3 Feedback Thread

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.