Weird impy thing
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > Compet-n new demo format

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
fx02
Mini-Member

As stated in my email to fraggle:
I have an idea of using Chocolate Doom for additional section on Compet-n but I'd like to have "special" demos that won't be compatible with Vanilla and wont be easy to break/modify. Is that possible?

I'd like comments on this, is this possible? Fraggle said that closed source is not an option. Any suggestions? I'm not a programmer so this is out of my range :)

Old Post 06-13-12 23:33 #
fx02 is online now Profile || Blog || PM || Email || Homepage || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
Porsche Monty

Just a few questions:

. What can Chocolate Doom do for Compet-N that prBoom+ won't?

. Are altered demos really that much of a problem? personally I never heard of anyone doing such a thing.

. If indeed a problem, what's the purpose? not that you can make money out of it.

. As long as you're being given proper credit for whatever code you've voluntarily released for free, why give a shit about it becoming closed in someone else's project?

Old Post 06-14-12 20:54 #
Porsche Monty is offline Profile || Blog || PM || Search || Add Buddy IP || Edit/Delete || Quote
RjY
anARCHy

Porsche Monty said:
As long as you're being given proper credit for whatever code you've voluntarily released for free, why give a shit about it becoming closed in someone else's project?
Permissively free software licence philosophy summed up in one line. ;-) Unfortunately most Doom engines are the other kind (copyleft)

fx02 said:
I'd like to have "special" demos that won't be compatible with Vanilla and wont be easy to break/modify. Is that possible?