Severed bunny head
Register | User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Classic Doom > Source Ports > prboom-plus -viddump output

Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 16:58. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
40oz
Forum Spammer

I'm new to this so I'm kinda whinging it and trying a bunch of different things out of desperation.

I don't really have any good computers but I want to get some demo recordings + commentary up on youtube, and from what I've read, using PrBoom-plus's -viddump command is a great way to do it.

I've had a lot of trouble doing it, but eventually got something up and running after doing Andy Oliviera's AVI output with ffmpeg.exe because I intend on editing these videos. PrBoom-plus outputs a super huge avi file that won't run with Windows Media Player or Windows Movie Maker, but I've had success using a program called Format Factory to convert them over to a different video format such as MP4 that's significantly smaller.

Things have been good so far except that some of my demos are close to 20 minutes or longer and end up being as large as 8GB, even on low resolutions. These files take forever to convert and sometimes never finish. Some of my larger videos stall during the conversion process or simply don't start.

I'm contemplating simply finding a different converter program to use but I'm getting sick of haplessly downloading things and not being sure of the results. Is there a way that Prboom-plus can output a smaller video file for me to work with?

I don't need sound or music. It's okay if the video isn't completely lossless, but I would like at least doom's 35 frame rate. The resolution can be small too. I'm sick of working with these giant files. Is there some kind of alternative output format or encoding process or something that will make smaller videos?

Old Post 08-10-13 02:25 #