Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
EarthQuake

Can Zdoom handle my project?

First off, I'd like to clearly state that this is not a newproject (yet), so don't you dare even think about tagging me.

I have been considering a project for the past month, and I first want to find out if zdoom was even capable of such a feat. I'm fairly new to zdoom's features, and I'm not really sure if this would even work out, so that's why I'm not posting a design document or anything.

I'd just like to know if it is it possible to...

1) ...include monsters from heretic/hexen? I saw some hexen monsters were used in Void, but what about heretic monsters? If they are not already implemented, it would be easy to create a terrific mockup from existing monsters (for example, gargoyles that are really modified lost souls, or golems that are really modified demons). I'm sure this would be possible with dehacked patches.

2) ...create a hub-style level system like in hexen? I'm assuming this is very possible, because Daedalus used something like this. I wanted to be able to come back to a previous level and have the state of the level preserved.

3) ...randomly generate monsters every time a player returns to a level? Again, I'm assuming this would be easy because Daedalus used something similar.

4) ...have monsters drop randomly picked items? Also, to have each monster type have a different list of items to pick from. For example, when a monster dies, have that monster drop a potion, ammo clip, shells, armored helm bonus, or etc... I don't think this sounds very promising, especially with monsters that were randomly spawned.

5) ...strip the player of the pistol and fists?

6) ...add more weapons without removing the originals? Would it be possible to have, let's say, slot 6 contain the plasma rifle and another weapon, as like how the shotgun and combat shotgun both take up slot 3?