Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
fabian

Definition of "slaughter map"?

I often read post on this forum refering to "slaughter maps". My question is: What is a slaughter map, how is it defined?

A slaughter map will contain a lot of monsters, that's granted. But how many monsters (or total opponent hit points) does it need to be a "slaughter map"? Is there a definite threshold or is it a smooth transition?

Also, are there any slaughter maps in the official IWADs? Does map32 of plutonia count as one?

I'm new to the genre, but I think I have a pretty good understanding of them.

Slaughter maps represent a shift in focus for the player, less about the resource-management of ammo (since ample is usually supplied) and more toward commanding a large amount of space that is constantly threatened by burgeoning enemies; usually in hordes.

BFG, plasma and rocket play are primary slaughter elements (although not limited to these) because of the amount of clearance a player can get with these weapons; BFG's tracer behaviour being very effective at clearing out a large area in front of the player (especially of minor and mid-tier foes), the plasma gun offering an incredible rate of fire (again, excellent fodder-cleaning potential) and the rocket launcher's splash-damage potential.

Slaughter maps aren't just about shooting things, but strategy. Maintaining, for example, channels of egress through a horde of monsters becomes more important and instrumental to success than mere accuracy or knowing where the pickups are.

Increase an enemy-count enough to feasibly take up 75% of a player's operational space, but give the player enough supplies to realistically deal with it all (no matter how close a call it is), and that's a slaughter map.

Anyone more experienced is very welcome to come in and amend my rambling attempt at a definition though.