Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kaleb.

KSpeed: Semi-Speedmapping WAD(5 Maps)

I have been making WADs for about 4 years and have never finished a single thing. I wanted to change that, so here it is.

KSPEED is a semi-speedmapping project that was made in a span of 5 days.

Keep in mind these maps are not very good. I still am not too good at monster placement. I am also very, very bad at making boss maps. Like, very bad.

Screenshots: http://imgur.com/a/CwrB2
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/download/5xu68xb0hn3ajb0/kspeed.zip

For use in ZDoom.
(Made in Boom format, but lifts won't work with PrBoom and PrBoom-Plus for some odd reason)

I would also love any criticism you have to offer.

Enjoy!

I gave it a quick look with no monsters(ZDoom is an utter pain in the ass on this laptop) and it looks pretty cool for a speedmap set, although it kind of mostly consists of hallways connecting rooms(a problem I have as well). Also I found this:

I humbly request that you leave it in. And try checking if you have tags on your lifts: having tags with no lifts is kind of a ZDoomism that trips people up sometimes.

hi there. some thoughts:

- decent aesthetics, you have a good sense of moderate/minimal detailing, color schemes, etc.
- every map was pretty much a linear hallway of rooms connected to rooms. It's worth experimenting with interconnecting more areas of the map and letting players approach rooms from different directions, or do certain tasks in an order they choose.
- a similar grievance is that the gameplay is pretty much: open a door, there are monsters in the room facing you, kill them from the door, go into room, repeat. Doom monsters are much more threatening when in attacking in groups, from different angles, from different heights. If you break away from the room-->hallway-->room design definitely try and 'attack' the player from multiple directions at once.