Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Wenex

Can't start WADS through ZDL nor Doom Launcher

Posted (edited)

Hello, I'm new to Doom wads, but I have read up some tutorials and guides how to use wads loaders such as ZDL or Doom Launcher. 

Problem is, that if I want to start for example Bloodstain or Scythe wads (or I would assume any other player created wad) I always end up receiving the "Palette not found" error. If I drop down the wads onto gzDOOM then everything works correctly no issue. Thing is I would like to use some huds or graphical mods on top of those wads, and at the current moment it's not possible for me.

I have zero idea why does this error appear, have no idea what a palette even is in this case. I'm not sure whenever there's something wrong with files in folder or the gzDOOM settings. Can someone help me with this issue?

Screenshots:

16MyII8.jpg r5NgMfQ.jpg  Jb50jiD.jpg gjIDqVI.jpg

Cheers.

IWADs are the original games. Bloodstain is not an IWAD and needs to be in the external files part of ZDL, and DOOM2 should be used as the IWAD instead.

Posted (edited)

Can you explain in more detail? If Bloodstain is not an IWAD then why does it work if I drop it down on gZDOOM just as I would do that with DOOM2?

What should I do with Bloodstain for example to start it up in gzDOOM and with hud mods? Or that is not possible and the only way to play Bloodstain is a drop down method?

2 minutes ago, Wenex said:

Can you explain in more detail? If Bloodstain is not an IWAD then why does it work if I drop it down on gZDOOM just as I would do that with DOOM2?

When you drops WADS on GZDoom.exe - you're commiting "gzdoom.exe -IWAD Doom2.wad -file bloodstain.wad", not "Gzdoom.exe - IWAD Bloodstain.wad".

If you have more IWADS (Doom, Doom 2, TNT, Plutonia) - you will get the menu first, not the running mod itself.