Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
R4L

Metroid Dreadnought Overhaul - 1.4 (9/16/2018)

Fd0zjr5.png.12c3a40c59159c53712cbce3ef6a9f83.png

Original Metroid Dreadnought thread here!

What is this?

This is a mod that adds 3D models to Metroid Dreadnought, and fixes a few other problems so it can run in the latest GZDoom. This originally started as a joint venture between RockstarRaccoon and myself, but considering the fallout he's had and the overall reputation of this failed "Metroid Doom" mod, I figured I could at least upload my share of work from that project and integrate it into the base mod so that it isn't entirely lost and distance myself from the drama. I've been working with this mod on and off for 3 years learning my way around modding tools, and this is kind of the culmination of that. While this isn't a ton of stuff, it's work that I'm semi-happy about, and feel that maybe it could improve this already fantastic mod some more.

Features

-3D Arm Cannon models for most of the beams. The exceptions being the Doom Cannon, Chroma Storm, and Long Beam for now.
-3D models for the Gunship, as well as a Chozo statue prop, some of the pickups, and some 3D crates. I plan on adding more!
-Brightmaps for beams and props!

I've also tinkered with the code a bit:

-Morph Ball is now an item that has to be acquired, and it has an item banner and jingle.
-Items can be obtained in morph ball mode.
-Renamed ijon's math functions that were superseded by GZDoom so most things work again.
-Enabled and fixed the Beam Selection HUD, because it's fucking awesome. Default bind is 'Q'.
-Energy Tanks actually fill up 100% now. Health would become "full" at about 2 Energy Tanks and would not fill any further.
-Hopefully made modding easier. You can compile ACS now. Export all scripts to a folder and add to your include path in SLADE. :P

Known Issues

Some bugs that were present before are still here unfortunately.