Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Swalzi

EDF Custom Scratch Damage Formula Help

I'm working on resources for a MBF-Boom mapset. There's a new mid-tier melee enemy that uses the Revenant punch, but I want it do a bit more damage in more advanced source ports. This is my first time delving into Eternity.

I've been trying to get a an enemy melee attack damage formula to work in Eternity over the past day and I'm having a hard time understanding how to build the custom melee damage formula. I can get static damage to work, but not the custom damage formula I want to use. I want the melee attack to deal between 9-72 damage, formula is (random(1, 8) * 9. Very simple to do in Decorate with the A_CustomMeleeAttack codepointer.

In Eternity, A_Scratch is the custom enemy attack codepointer. I check the Eternity wiki entry for A_Scratch and found that the user can assign a custom damage formula, unlike MBF. This is where I get lost and confused as I'm pointed towards A_SetCounter and A_CounterOp to create the damage formula. I'll post my attempted Eternity code below along with the Decorate code.

Eternity code:

// Too confusing. New monster replaces Light Amp Visor graphic sprite.

Melee:
    PVIS E 0 A_FaceTarget
	PVIS E 4 A_SkelWhoosh
	PVIS F 4 A_FaceTarget
	PVIS G 0 A_CounterOp (1, 2, 3, 12) // 1 calls first counter, 2 calls second counter, 3 calls third counter is also considered destination
					  // 12 is hit dice roll < destination = operand1 * random(1, operand2) >
      					 // 9 = 9 * random(1, 8) // This is where I pray that it works even though it doesn't make sense.
	PVIS G 0 A_SetCounter (1, 9, 0) // (Counter, Value, Operation)
	PVIS G 0 A_SetCounter (2, 8, 0)
	PVIS G 0 A_SetCounter (3, 9, 0) // Destination, totally lost on this one. Damage is static, 9 damage only. Setting it to 0 deals no damage.
	PVIS G 4 A_Scratch (2, 3, "weapons/sawhit") // 2 = usecounter, 3 = counter which is also the destination.