Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
NationwideMoose

New Doomer

Hey guys I'm new to the Doom community on PC. I downloaded Zandronum for MP and Crispy Doom for SP and am really happy with both. I also started a deathmatch server on TSPG. My question is what now? What are some classic wads and mods you guys recommend for me to experience.

Well... classic WADs like IWADs, if you want the full Doom experience you should totally play Ultimate Doom, Doom II and Final Doom. The last one not that much to be honest, it isn't that big of a deal either (at least for me), it's just 2 megawads for Doom II but is quite worth playing them. There is also the Master levels for Doom or No Rest for the Living additional classic maps. Soon the Sigil of Baphomet, the 5th episode of Doom, will be released (not that soon actually, was supposed to be in mid february but will be finally released in april, I hope).

Additionally, there are Heretic and Hexen. Those are kind of Doom's brothers released by Raven software. They are focused on a more fantasy-medieval atmosphere. Heretic is pretty much very similar to Doom. Hexen takes the game beyond for a more RPG focused experience.

There is also Strife but I don't know much about it.

For classic mods, well... there are many and I guess that depends on everyone's tastes. I'm not much into mods actually, but some very famous mods that you should probably play are: Brutal Doom (+Project Brutality), Knee-deep in ZDoom, Ultimate Doom: the way Id did, Eviternity, Sunlust, Doom64 RTC. All of these are great mods worth playing.

Others are Hell Revealed, Master of Puppets and Stronghold.

If by classic you mean like old and famous mods, I guess Action Doom, Chex Total Conversion, Blood Total Conversion... I don't remember much of them.

You can check out this page for old ones, there aren't many but you might see one that you like: http://www.doomwadstation.net/main/tc.html