Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
CaptainMitchell

Tartarus Inferno V1.03 Release

Posted (edited)

A set of maps I have been working on, while I stream, that I have decided to label Tartarus Inferno. It was fully created in GZDoomBuilder with vanilla Doom II Textures. For my first mod I really wanted to stick to the confines of DOOM II to see what I could get away with, and to hopefully get my creative juices flowing.
The first map alone took me a long time to finish, around 6 months off and on when I was still trying to get the hang of GZDoomBuilder. If I learned something new, it probably is somewhere in that first level. 3D Floors, Slopes, Windows, teleports. It really was my testing ground for everything new I learned.

The rest I started working on after I felt confident in my abilites when I finished work on MAP01. I'm only one guy, I tried to make the maps as bug free as possible but again, I am only a beginner level mapper. I tried to make the levels flow as much as possible from one to the next.

I hope you enjoy the mod, please leave me feedback down below. 

Did some more testing, so far all the maps can be done with freelook turned off. MAP01 Requires Jumping because of swimmable lava, so far the rest of the maps don't require jumping. But because of MAP01 this wad requires jumping enabled.

Another note, the wad can be completely played without any gameplay mods. I tested with Brutal Doom V21 but upon playing the maps again without BD I found it was playable. So Brutal Doom is not required.

DO NOT PLAY IN SOFTWARE RENDERING OR VANILLA LIGHTING

Early levels may look alright aside from a few bugs but because of the use of fog MAP07 is completely unplayable in Software Rendering and Vanilla Lighting. MAP05 also suffers from fog but not nearly to the extent MAP07 does.

Download Link is at the bottom of the Post

Update: 1.03

MAP01 Added Multiple Monster Closets when picking up Yellow Key