Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
brullov

Hello, I am a newbie here

21 minutes ago, brullov said:

What is the best way to play Doom? (with wasd and mouse look, for Duke Nukem 3D is Eduke32 port);
What is the best way to make maps for Doom?
What is the best way to add your own art/sound/music/etc?
Could you tell me the best maps for Doom please?

1. Depending on features you want like 3d floors, slopes, portals or coloured lights you can jump into gzdoom, but if you want something more traditional-try prboom+, for true vanilla feels use chocolate doom or crispy doom. Middle ground between gzdoom and prboom+ is eternity engine - it supports portals and slopes(only for visuals for this day).
2. People use gzdoom builder-bugfix or doom builder x, they get updates quite frequently.
3.You need Slade 3 for textures, music, sound import and anything else what needs imported or written. It also has mapping editor, but I don't recommend use, unless you work on linux or there any other limitations.
4. People mostly recommend look up to cacoward page for good content. 

21 minutes ago, brullov said:

Is it possible to make a game with Doom Engine (I mean with its ports)? If yes, how?
Are there any tutorials about adding your own monsters/guns, changing HUD, adding cut-scenes etc?

Well, gzdoom engine is open source so you can use it freely for your own games. For that you would need go to zdoom wiki and forums. 
https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=56132

Sorry, for some questions I'm not able to answer, so I hope other people will fill gaps better than me. 

Welcome to DooMworld forums! please enjoy your stay here, and enjoy browsing the different areas of the site. :)

To answer your questions, here's my best answers:

Q: What is the best way to play Doom?

A: Depends on whether it is vanilla compat or not. Usually WASD + Mouse is fine but some people disable jumping/crouching. (usually for modern engines like GZDooM).