Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
SeanTheBermanator

Doom Sound Bulb - HD sounds that stay true to the original!

I applaud you for hunting out all the original sounds!  I too always felt the original Hi-Res sound pack deviated from the original sounds a little, but these sound much closer.

I'm no audio expert, but the new versions did sound a lot more trebly than the originals though - much more piercing.  This might be a natural result of the higher bit-rate, but it definitely sounded different.

Out of interest I also popped the two versions of DSFLAME into Audacity to compare them.  Are you aware that your version of DSFLAME (on the bottom) is shorter than the original (on the top)?

image.png.4a7c545cbb34f372c514abcc369ecce7.png

Very nice, I will check this out asap. I do love Per Kristian's pack and didn't even think one could improve upon that.

Just now, elend said:

Very nice, I will check this out asap. I do love Per Kristian's pack and didn't even think one could improve upon that.

Well, there was already a way, and that was to include more than he already did.

Everything sounds so clear! I'll definitely be using this from now on.

Holy shit, these sound fantastic!

My only complaint (Which is an extremely minor one at that) is that a few of the sounds that weren't included in PerKristian's sound pack seem a bit distorted to me in this pack (Mainly the plasma rifle firing and the cacodemon's death sound), but it's no big deal.

Sorry to hear that @GamingMarine. There is sadly not much I can do about that. Remastering low-res audio is harder than you may think, especially since some of the sounds may have been equalized to sound "good" while Doom was being worked on. They thought they could do that with compression to restore frequencies... That's not how it's done, once the frequencies are lost, they're gone.