Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
LateToDOOM2020

New To Doom With Many Questions

So I'm new to doom and I just went through and beat it for....the first one (Doom / Ultimate Doom??)

• Knee-Deep in the Dead
  • The Shores of Hell
  • Inferno
  • Thy Flesh Consumed

Now I'm hooked and want to get the most out of doom and it lead me to some questions.

Does anyone even play the original doom anymore?  I have it running through dos box.

If so How can I play team death match with someone over the internet... I know this was in the 90's with modems and using phone numbers?? not ip addresses so its a bit tricky i assume to do now days. But I think about all those great team death match maps going to waste!

If I was to release a wad for the original doom would anyone even care or is this just super old and pointless?

If there is still a focus on the original doom as it somewhat seems there may be I am making a wad ill post later and I have some simple scripts i wrote to uncomplicate the commandline arguments for DOS box so its easy to use DOOM.EXE without worrying about dos box i use the scripts to run wad files real quickly etc.. maybe someone else will find use in them

Posted (edited)

There is a link to thread above, but I won't miss my chance to type some words.

1. There are 5 main categories/compatibilities of WADs: Vanilla, Limit-Removing, Boom, MBF, ZDoom. You can play the first four on PRBoom+, and the last on (G/L)ZDoom.

2. There are 3 main multiplayer ports: Odamex (classic but dead), ZDaemon (devolved ZDoom), Zandronum (full of servers with 1gb mods).

3. No no no. Don't be pessimistic! If you release a vanilla WAD, people will play it, if only for a short time. Just (EDIT:) do make a D!Zone-tier abomination, please.

Edited by Kut : i was stupid

2 hours ago, LateToDOOM2020 said: