Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kinker31

Quake Level Building: What's Your Advice?

I've been starting to play a bit more of Quake recently, and somewhere around the time I actually managed to actually get around to finishing the first and second episodes of the base game, I decided to get myself more acquainted with TrenchBroom, one of the more modern editors for Quake 1. So far, I've been learning quite a bit about the brush and point-entity system, and I'm quite happy about that!

That being said, I'm relatively new to the whole "Quake Map Creation" thing, and so far I've been using much of the rules of thumb I've been using for making Doom levels, loosely based around John Romero's guidelines for building Doom levels, adjusting for Quake's more limited texture palette and more advanced way of making levels every now and them.

All of this being said, if any of you have tried out making a Quake map for yourself, is there any pitfalls, good advice, and or good things to know I should know about?

Posted (edited)

I've been learning Quake mapping for a few years now.  I'm by no means a pro, but I do at least feel somewhat comfortable with the engine and editor these days.  My advice:

1. Use ericw-tools for qbsp/light/vis.  They're newer and support some nice things.  http://ericwa.github.io/ericw-tools/

2. Something I learned the hard way is that monsters don't like to walk on clip brushes.  So if you're adding them to cover a grated floor and make it smooth to travel over, don't do this:

Spoiler

bad.jpg.ba82c46a67bacdc21f911a1638e3577c.jpg

Give them a texture named SKIP (make a wad with a dummy texture named that if you don't have one) and assign them a func_wall or func_detail_wall.  Then monsters will go over them.  This will need the qbsp from ericw-tools I think, however.