Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
kinker31

Do you think a proper Oblige-like for Quake 1 could be possible?

I've been using Oblige 7.70 and Obaddon more often, and it got me thinking: Since Oblige's able to make sector-based game maps (Doom, Heretic, Hacx...) with ease, could a similar program involving (and/or making good use) the Quake Engine's brushes be possible, and easy to make addons for the same way Oblige is, and could a Quake equivalent of ObAddon be made, or even built into this theoretical program? I'd personally love to see one get made, and I'd eagerly hop on board trying to develop one, but I right now, I'm not very good with code at the moment, at least not for stuff involving Quake, save for func_ent/brush_ent flags.

i think oblige v3 supports making quake maps, also the newest oblige version can export your generated map to the .map file format, so you can open it with a quake level editor (like j.a.c.k.), but the level may need some tweaks to be run properly.

20 minutes ago, cambreaKer said:

i think oblige v3 supports making quake maps, also the newest oblige version can export your generated map to the .map file format, so you can open it with a quake level editor (like j.a.c.k.), but the level may need some tweaks to be run properly.

I think I know what you mean, but I was thinking moreso an Oblige-like engine built to generate decent-at-least, 'no need to tweak' Quake bsp files.

Version 4.28 has working Quake 1 and Quake 2 support, though the levels are very plain.

Quake is harder to generate levels for, since the original maps make a lot of use of true 3D geometry, but Oblige's systems are very 2D orientated (in all versions) and it can't really do the game justice.

6 hours ago, andrewj said:

Version 4.28 has working Quake 1 and Quake 2 support, though the levels are very plain.