Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
boojum snark

Removing preexisting maps from wad

Yo

Working on a little thing, based off the super awesome Resurgence megawad for those sweet textures and Affits. I'm replacing the original maps as it goes, but am only planning on a 12 map wad, and I'm having trouble figuring out how you delete the "extra" original maps in Slade 3. Any help (or a gin and tonic,  lemon, not fekkin' cucumber) would be appreciated.

I'm not very experienced with Doom editing, but it sounds like you'd be better off making a whole new WAD and manually inserting the textures you want to it. The custom enemy would probably be a similar process but I haven't touched actors at all so I couldn't offer any advice.

But all that said, I'm not familiar with Resurgence, does its author(s) permit reusing their content in this manner? I feel like that's kind of an important thing to know before you use someone else's assets.

41 minutes ago, boojum snark said:

Yo

Working on a little thing, based off the super awesome Resurgence megawad for those sweet textures and Affits. I'm replacing the original maps as it goes, but am only planning on a 12 map wad, and I'm having trouble figuring out how you delete the "extra" original maps in Slade 3. Any help (or a gin and tonic,  lemon, not fekkin' cucumber) would be appreciated.

Because of the clause in the text file, you may only do this for your own purposes.

* Copyright / Permissions *

Authors may NOT use the contents of this file as a base for modification or
reuse.  Permissions have been obtained from original authors for any of
their resources modified or included in this file.

You, therefore, are not allowed to publish your map, if you use any of the Resurgence contents.

But, for your own amusement and practice using Slade3 ....

It would be a lot easier if you just copy/pasted TEXTURE1 and PNAMES into your pwad.