Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
asd1994

Is it okay to use a Realm667 texture pack in a total conversion mod?

Question

So I've been working on a total conversion mod for Doom 2 but I'm really struggling with making assets. I'm not really an artist and making all the textures I need is a daunting task. I've made a few already but honestly they're pretty terrible. I'm considering using something like Baker's Legacy or something for it since it's got the colorful dark fantasy aesthetic I'm looking for, but I'm worried about what other people would think if I just used something someone else made. I know it's best to make everything myself for something like this, but I really don't have the skill, tools, or time to make everything by hand. I know this will probably sound like a dumb question but is it okay to use pre-made stuff in a TC mod? Would people look down on me for it?

3 answers to this question

The texture packs are made to use them.

So nobody will tell you its bad if you use one.

You can make your own textures if you like, too.

So take it easy, pal!

There is no rush, so you will get better at it.

On a side note, if you want to sell your total conversion, in that case, check what the .txt that comes with the texture pack said about it.

My quick answer is that it probably said that they are not made to sell, because they are mostly just texture edits of the originals, and commercializing textures from another game is a big trouble, even when they are edits.

So if thats the case, well, take your time at learning how to improve you texture art because its not an easy task to make game from get go.

Most TC have a development time of three to ten years.

So don't rush it and just pour your soul on express what you desire.

Cheers, pal!

EDIT: you may want to take a look at Freedoom texture pack, they are free to use, free to edit, and you can use them for commercial purpose.