Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dyshoria

Slaying is fun.wad

New map that ive been working on. It was delayed due to some issues with my computer but here it is. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1IA_sCitqL8ZVjC3ZJvTN1ujr_pCo17vR/view?usp=sharing

Okay, so I played your map and I honestly don't know what to think of it. I'll try and give my honest criticisms. Just so you are aware, I am a beginner, too ;)

Gameplay

The gameplay is a bit dull in a few regards. There is a distinct lack of ammunition in your map. To give an example would be fighting the spider mastermind and then the cyber-demon directly afterwards. There is barely any ammo in the arena to dispatch them and the other monsters in the arena. Progression is also a bit too straightforward in some regards, mostly just moving forward. I'd try and work on making the progression a bit more complex, not just moving forward.

Layout

Your layout is really simple. A bit too simple. I'd recommend having some height variation, since your map is a bit flat. Try and think of a map as being a sort of obstacle course, that you need to find a way to conquer. Don't be afraid to have really abstract environments, man. Doom was abstract from the very beginning. There is also a lot of unused open space. Always think about how this space will be used or if it is necessary. 

Texturing

Your texturing needs a little bit of work. There are some door textures that look a bit odd( I'll cover them in the "Bugs" section of my review). Your environments need just a little bit more detail. A few torches and some other decorations would look really good. Experiment with lighting. Remember that you're still learning. Don't be afraid to experiment with all the features that your editor provides(just test them first)

Bugs

Spoiler