Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
-Lj-

how do i make multiple teleports in doom builder

im making a level where theres a section you walk into a teleporter to the top of a blood fall you make your way to the other side elevate up a cliff fight a hell knight and grab the red key card on the teleport and be warped back i figured how to make teleporters but sometimes when i go in tp 1 i go to destination 2 i go to tp 2 and go to destination 1 and its really frustrating. im extremely new to wad building thought i'd come here

I think what you are describing is that you randomly teleport between destinations, you didn't say what map format you were using, e.g. Doom: Doom 2 (Doom Format), Boom Format or UDMF etc however, the solution should be universal:

When setting up your teleporters have you tagged the teleport line action to match the sector your teleport destination is in? I believe you may have the same tag for both teleporters, whether it be the tag all sectors start with (0) or one you assigned to both. Tags are how the game identifies what actions go where, e.g. Tag 27 Lift Line action --> Tag 27 Sector = All sectors that are tagged 27 will fulfil the lift action.

The following examples are done in Ultimate Doom Builder.

In this example, for formats which aren't UDMF such as Boom or Doom, this is how you'd set up teleporters that go to different places - if you wanted more unique teleporters you need only use tags not already in use by existing teleporters. 

unknown.png

In UDMF things look and act a little differently: 

unknown.png

5 hours ago, Jark said:

im using zdoom format

I think what you are describing is that you randomly teleport between destinations, you didn't say what map format you were using, e.g. Doom: Doom 2 (Doom

Format), Boom Format or UDMF etc however, the solution should be universal: