Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
DarkknightXC

Work and play games?

How many people here actually work or used to work in the games industry - i.e. designer/artist/developer/q.a. and still develop using Doom now?

I used to work in the games industry until I got bored of pizza and long hours...

DarkknightXC said:

I used to work in the games industry until I got bored of pizza and long hours...

wow that sounds like hell all right...

I drew the player and enemy skins for a third party working on a Jedi Knight: Dark Forces II-----> Doom convertion. That's about as close as I've gotten.

Yeah - Jedi Knight for a while, seemed to be THE game to edit. That's how I saw it, anyway.

I was a character voice for a really cool total conversion which, SHOCK, never got released. :)

My career goal is to become a game writer or journalist. I believe that would be the most enjoyable thing I could do.

I've contributed to countless projects which were later deemed as "important lessons". Speaking of which, does anyone want a 3D engine that does nothing? No? How about sprites for an 8-bit CRPG?

Zoost said:

What games did you work on?

I work on a few licensed IP games. I worked on Sky Sports(TM) Football Quiz: Seasons 01 & 02 (THQ), Who wants to be a millionare: German 3rd and Italian 2nd Editions (Eidos), American Idol and Pop Idol games (Codemasters).

I got the job as a programmer since I had a great deal of interest in Football (Soccer to those in the US) and games in general.

I should be careful what I say further to that since contracts are full of clauses stating what you can and cannot say.

wildweasel-r3000 said:

My career goal is to become a game writer or journalist. I believe that would be the most enjoyable thing I could do.

Easiest job going! Get the write a few lines about game you've just been paid to play and the publishers are all over you to give them a good review.

Numbermind said: