Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Skibz

Common Map-making Errors

Hey,
I'm just getting into making some Doom 2 maps in WADauthor, and I'm trying to avoid making stupid/predictable/boring levels in general. Can anyone please give me some advice on what they think generally ruins user-made maps - be it bad key placing, level themes, etc - as I'm not particularly experienced to be honest and there's no excuse for making bad maps in this day and age :)

Some common mistakes and doom.exe game crashing errors:

Too many things in view
Using a small texture on a large wall (i.e. using a step texture on a wall)
Using a multi-patched texture as a see through wall
Ammo, health, and enemy imbalance
Visplane overflows
HOM caused by too many visplanes
Logical errors (i.e. blue key behind blue key door, no exit, doors that open on one side only, and no way to open it from the other side, etc.)
Using the sky textures on walls
Putting enemies in areas to small to contain them
Transitioning from sky to other ceiling without some kind of height change

- Maps with huge 0 brigthness mazes!
- All the textures and flats available used!
- Mixing themes!
- Over usage of Cyberdemons, Masterminds etc!

For instance: Make it everything this level is not! http://home13.inet.tele.dk/CNH/fallen.htm

There are more, can't think of them right now though...

Chris Hansen said:

- Maps with huge 0 brigthness mazes!
- All the textures and flats available used!
- Mixing themes!
- Over usage of Cyberdemons, Masterminds etc!

To be fair, it probably is possible to have some of those things in a map and not consider them "errors". Its just how they are executed.

But otherwise I agree.

Well yeah, but Skibz said that what we "think generally ruins user-made maps". And I think that a ton of Cyberdemons ruins a map! ;)

Chris Hansen said: